Today’s Tease…Stewart Brodian

Welcome! Pull up a seat and enjoy a chat with Today’s Tease…Stewart Brodian

Your Name or Pen Name you use:  Stewart Brodian

Title of the book you are promoting:  I’m Not Snooki

 Link to purchase your Book:
http://www.amazon.com/Im-Not-Snooki-ebook/dp/B005ISAZAO/ref=sr_1_6?ie=UTF8&qid=1367894913&sr=8-6&keywords=brodian

 Genre:  (it’s not autobiographical, or comedic or dramatic – if it were a recording, it would be called spoken word).

Welcome  SB…I, LH have some questions for you 😉

LH: I wanted to be a ballerina, race car driver and a private detective when I was little. What did you want to be when you grew up?

SB: When I was little: A freight train driver – later, a rock star

LH: I didn’t really have a literary influence, I just decided one day to start writing. Who influenced you in your writing career?     

SB: Not who but what: It was a news story about the book Snooki published.  I was just so frustrated that such garbage could be published I just had to let it out somehow.

LH: I self published all of my books and was then “discovered” by a publisher. Are you an Indie or published author?

SB: I’m an indie – used to publish my own little newspaper called “NICKEL” it listed area open mic nights + had poetry and artwork.

LH: As an Indie Author, I was hesitant about being with a publishing company. If you are an Indie author, would you like to be published by a traditional publisher and if so, why or why not?
SB: If this was years ago, I’d want to be with a major – however, so many people who’ve been on major labels have said that it’s better to be indie have influenced me to say the same.

As an indie, you do have less restrictions thereby having the ability in attaining a larger and yet more diverse audience.

LH: This is easy for me…I’d invite Johnny Depp and I would not discuss movies!  Who would you invite to dinner, living or dead, and what one topic would you NOT discuss with them?

SB: Jesus, religion.

LH: I personally think that there is way too much sex and violence everywhere in society these days and it’s everywhere but that Hollywood is one of the biggest contributors.  Do you think that society as a whole is subjected to too much sex and violence and are you concerned about it? Ever feel conflicted and if so, why?

SB: Society is definitely over-subjected to sex and violence and MTV is one of its’ biggest culprits! (did you see that stupid performance by Miley Cyrus?!!!).

Of course I’m concerned about it.

There’s all these efforts to stop the spread of disease, teen pregnancy, degrading attitudes towards women (and, men for that matter) and (here I go, picking on MTV again,…) you see all this nonsense and plain immaturity in the depiction of sexuality – especially in music videos and this overabundance of reality shows.

Shock value seems to be what the producers are going for and, quite frankly, society has OD’d on it!  OK! WE’RE SHOCKED!!! Now Get On To Making Something Else!!!

LH: I’m a huge softy and by no means a beauty queen… lol but, I truly would want world peace in the blink of an eye if I could make it happen…If you could change one thing in the world, in the blink of an eye, what would it be?

SB: Realization is the only word that comes to mind – but, I’m not sure of what…

LH: With the traditional bookstore becoming obsolete and everyone turning to buying books online, I don’t buy the hype that “the cover is everything”. How important do you think book covers are now that almost all shopping is done online?

SB: A good cover or, some type of depiction, still catches the reader’s eye.                          

That’s just plain psychology.

LH: I can remember wanting to write as a kid. I got a really late start! Have you always wanted to write and when did you start?

SB: I can’t remember if I wanted to write when I was a kid.  One thing I know for sure, I was not a fiction reader.

I know I wanted to write songs when I was around 10 years old.

I wrote “I’m Not Snooki” when I was 49.

LH: I love to see if I can see myself in a character. What interests you most about a story?

SB: Oddly enough, the lead character in the TV show “Life On Mars” I found relateable.

It’s that person out of place type of thing – I also gravitated towards the lead character in Samurai Jack – always trying to figure out his place in the (situation) and hopefully getting to more right place.                             

LH: For me, I just get hit with this whole movie in my head and start writing. How do you come up with your stories?

SB: It’s been said that, the best way to come up with fiction is to simply take the truth and distort it. That’s what I did with my TV pilot.

Oddly enough, some of the fiction I made up in the pilot have come into reality.

For me, my creativity comes mostly out of frustration – yeah, that’s a sad thing to say.

Some people are inspired by happiness – that’s happened to me a few times!

LH: I can’t tell you or I’d have to…lol Are you working on anything now?                                                                  

SB: I am always working on something – I just made a very short indie film the other day.  It’s only 44 seconds long!

I’m running my radio show as I am answering your questions (honest!).

But, in all honesty, I’m working on getting my TV pilot, “Double Or Nutin’”, on the air.

LH: I’m working on #6…3 are published and the other 3 are due out this year… How many books have you written? How many have been published?

SB: I’ve only written one book – I have published about 28 issues of my indie newspaper over a ten year period.  Some of my poetry has been published here and there.

In 1996, I made a spoken word CD: “Misplaced Messiah”.

LH: I write for fun I don’t even dream of riches…Do you write for fun or money?

SB: I wrote “I’m Not Snooki” in the hopes of bettering society

LH: Some of my family members had a bit of a problem with me writing my first book “A Beautiful Liar” because the character Maggie West is basically me…to a point 😉 They had a problem with the genre and me “putting it all out there” so to speak so I took a pen name. They eventually came around as I have never cared who knows who I am what I’ve done or what they think of me. I’ve never wanted to be famous, just infamous! What has been your biggest problem when it comes to family or friends when writing?

SB: Hmmn,.. When I first started writing – like things for the campus newspaper – it seemed nobody picked up on what I wanted to get across.

And, there was always, that hard question: “What are you trying to say?”.

I never knew how to answer that question.

These days, there are no real problems.

When I don’t know something/get stuck, I just research what I’m looking for and then (whatever) hits me and I can continue to create.

LH: I have never experienced writers block…I have experienced writers “don’t want to”… Have you ever experienced writers block and if so, how did you overcome it?

SB:  When I started to publish my newspaper, I knew it would
drive my creativity away from my music writing.
I comforted myself in the thought that I’m still doing something creative for people.

I don’t think I’ve had writers block since I was about 18.

Situations and life itself (my surroundings) simply have to improve so that I can write.

Even though there are things going on in different intensities all around and in my life, I just try to section off all the different bits and leave different thought processes to each category.

Sometimes, different aspects from one category are found to be useful to another category.

In life, you sometimes have to approach things from a different perspective.

LH: I get asked all the time “Do you have any advice for new writers?”… Do you?

SB: Don’t be afraid to ask questions.

LH: I would not change one thing in my life as I would not be me if I did… If you could go back in time and change one thing in your life, what would it be?

SB:  Kept my mouth shut more often and ignored a few more people

LH: I would freak out if someone contacted me and said they wanted to make one of my books or my series of book into a movie as I am really very shy in person and I’d probably go into hiding. I don’t think I could handle it. How would you handle it? Who would be the first person you told? 

SB:  I already have, in the back of my mind, the idea of making my TV show into a movie.

LH: I can remember loving music since I was a little girl…when did your love of music start?

SB: Ask anyone who knew me way back when and they’ll tell you:  I’ve been singing since I was a little kid!

LH: I have no artistic talent other than writing. I have heard you play and I must say you are AMAZING! Are you self taught or did you take lessons and either way, how long did it take you to learn?

SB:  I took elementary piano one when I was in college – while I was learning piano, I start to teach myself how to pay guitar.

I was playing guitar in front of friends within three weeks of learning the instrument.

LH: I love music of all kinds. I have my headphones on all day long and when I’m writing, I’ll find a song or two and set in a loop to play until I finish the book. What kind of music do you listen to when you are not playing?

SB: Ragtime/1920’s music, rockabilly, big band,.. maybe some folk,…

LH: I have way too many favorite songs. I’ve been that way all my life. It would probably be different if I played music. What is your favorite piece to play?

SB: On guitar: Stray Cat Strut! On piano “WWI Flying Ace” (one of my own compositions)

LH: Inspiration just kind of “hits” me. Where do you find your inspiration?

SB: Just like you, it can happen anytime and anywhere – things I see or read, places I go, and people I meet.  A truck zoomed past me when I was waiting to pull out on a highway and boom!  There was an inspiration for a song (luckily, I had my tape recorder with me!).

There’s been very few times when someone told me to write a song and  did.

LH: I can remember wanting to be a movie star when I was a little girl, but alas…

How did you get into this business?

SB: I was watching MTV back in 1983 and JJ Jackson said “Billy Joel wants you to be in his video”.

There was a number on the screen, I called it + they told me where to be and how to dress. (“Tell Her About It” video).

Nothing until 1990.  Someone I knew in high school worked on Up All Night With Gilbert Gottfried and asked me to do a musical stint on one of his shows.

Then Joe Franklin (1991) then Rikki Lake (1992) and well,…….. (see my website)

LH: I’ve heard that modeling/acting/show business is stressful and demanding. How do you handle the pressure?

SB: I tell myself that I thrive on it – then, it seems I can’t get enough of it.

After the whole day is done, decaffeinated tea!

LH: I detest having my picture taken! What’s the toughest part of getting models/actors to do what you want them to do?

SB: I’ve never had that problem.  I’ve been very lucky to work with the professionals that I’ve worked with.

LH: I write books and can be found all over the web…Give me a list of your favorite accomplishments.

SB:  In 1999, I learned to play the violin.  Somehow, when I did that, everything else that I’ve done before seemed to have no significance.

All I ever wanted to do with my life was to learn how to play the violin.

LH: I’m working on a secret project…Do you have any upcoming projects that you’d care to share?

SB:  I just finished making a very short film – only 44 seconds long.

That will be on the next episode of my cable TV show, Brodian’s Basement, in October.

LH: I LOVE to shoot pool to unwind and relieve stress. What do you do to wind down?

SB: Sitting back with my 6 string!

LH: A long those lines…When I was very young, I worked in the Special Events department at Caesars Tahoe and got to stay after a billiards tournament with Willie Mosconi and Minnesota Fats to knock around a few balls. It was one of my favorite memories from my time there. What is your favorite celebrity story?

SB: I met The Breeders when they played Philly – they were really cool!

Thanks for that fun and informative interview SB…Now… for the fun stuff!

Favorite Beverage?  Raspberry tea with lemon

Exercise or Bubble Bath? (Whatever you want to bring, sweetheart 🙂 😉 🙂

Favorite Color? Brown

Take out or Dine in? Take out

Camping or Hotel? Hotel

Sports or Chocolate? (I don’t care for either)

Dogs or Cats? I prefer dogs but, cats don’t seem to have a problem with me

Favorite Food? Tuna fish

Favorite Song? Ain’t She Sweet

Favorite Movie? (as a kid: Chitty Chitty Bang Bang – as an adult: Patton)

Favorite Car? Anything made by Chevrolet

Sex or Chocolate? (The answer “Both” is totally acceptable 😉 – well, since I said I don’t care for chocolate,…

And now for the essay part of the interview 😉

LH: If you could go anywhere for a week, with anyone you wanted and no one would ever find out about it…where would you go, what would you do and who would you take?

SB: This question was answered in 2002 – I spent a week in Paris.

I walked along the Siene River, visited the museums, the sights, the Paris Auto Show, I visited the Bordeau region – met a nice lady there and spent the day with her.

Then, I took one day out to go visit London! (Madame Tussaude’s + rode around London on a double decker bus!)

Oh, what the heck, I do stuff like this all the time – weather I tell anyone or not!

Thanks for spending this time with us. Make sure to pick up your copy of Stewart Brodian’s

I’m not Snookie

at

http://www.amazon.com/Im-Not-Snooki-ebook/dp/B005ISAZAO/ref=sr_1_6?ie=UTF8&qid=1367894913&sr=8-6&keywords=brodian

cover

173 (1) 576 762 782 4801_219955640133_7026_n Dsc_0105

 

 

1 Comment

Filed under "AT" Author Tease Readings

One response to “Today’s Tease…Stewart Brodian

Leave a Reply

