Gone Catfishing…

catfish

I have been deluged with requests from “Catfish” lately. For you that don’t know, have never seen Dr. Phil or are too busy to know who’s who is social media, I have pulled the following to explain the Urban definition of a “Catfish.”

From Urban Dictionary…

catfish is someone who pretends to be someone they’re not using Facebook or other social media to create false identities, particularly to pursue deceptive online romances.

I get hit by these people all the time. I know there are people out there who have no idea they are talking to someone in an internet cafe in South Africa instead of Sargent John Rogers in Waco, TX as they’ve been told for months. Personally, I’m from the school of “If it looks too good to be true…it probably is” so I have no problem catching “Catfish.” I now want to do what I can to help others so that they are not taken for their hearts and/or money.

The following is a letter that I drafted that I include with a picture of a catfish and the link to the offenders scam information on Google.  If you think you’re taking to a “Catfish” and would like to know for sure…I can help. You don’t need Max and Nev, I was “Cat-fishing” way before he had his experience and cashed in on it. I’m hoping that I can help others recognize the signs and get at least some of these predators off social media.

Dear Catfish,

I don’t know what made you friend me as
I have written books about predators like you. I don’t
know what you’re thinking but know this, is
not going to end well.

You could be honest in your words yet you choose
to use others. You could be honest in your pictures
and let the world see your face, yet you use the pictures
of other to hide you causing even more victims.

You pray on helpless victims for the thrill of it.
You gain a persons trust to ultimately break it.
You take pleasure in others pain when you should
be looking into yourself to figure out why your life
is so empty.

Know this dear Catfish, I will friend you every time you
ask. I will post this every chance I get so others can see
you for who you really are. There are a lot of people
out there who don’t know any better and will believe your lies.
I will show them that you are a fraud.

Now that you’ve been exposed, go back to your internet cafe
and boot up your laptop. Make another profile for me to
expose. Know that I will not stop until you do.

Sincerely,
NOT a victim

PS. f someone out there reads this and thinks they have been
a victim of a cat fishing, Please IM me and I’ll be happy to show
you how easy it is to catch them.”

Click the link below to see that this profile is a scammer!

 (This is where I include the link exposing the fraud)

If you suspect you, or a loved one has been victim of a “Catfish” and need help to find out the truth…Feel free to contact me.

LH

3 Comments

Filed under "AT" Author Tease Readings

3 responses to “Gone Catfishing…

  1. When I was a small fry i used dough balls to catch catfish. Now they are blue. 😉

Leave a Reply

