Today’s Tease…Award Winning Author…Becky Lower

Welcome! Pull up a seat and enjoy a chat with Today’s Tease Becky Lower

Your Name or Pen Name you use:  Becky Lower

Title of the book you are promoting:  Banking On Temperance

 Link to purchase your Book: http://www.amazon.com/Banking-Temperance-Crimson-Romance-ebook/dp/B00CA9DEX4/ref=sr_1_4?ie=UTF8&qid=1365595261&sr=8-4&keywords=becky+lower

 Genre:  Historical romance

Welcome BL…I, LH have some questions for you 😉

LH: I wanted to be a ballerina, race car driver and a private detective when I was little. What did you want to be when you grew up?

BL: I wanted to be Annie Oakley when I was little, or Half Pint from the Little House on the Prairie books. As I got older, I wanted to be the girlfriend of Butch Cassidy or Pernell Roberts from the Bonanza series.

LH: I didn’t really have a literary influence, I just decided one day to start writing. Who influenced you in your writing career?

BL: I can’t remember a time when I wasn’t writing. I kept volumes of diaries in high school, was on the student newspaper staff, studied journalism in college. It took me a while to realize that what I really wanted was to write books instead of newspaper articles, but I got there.

LH: I self published all of my books and was then “discovered” by a publisher. Are you an Indie or published author?

BL: My historic novels are published by Crimson Romance. Banking On Temperance is the third book in a planned nine-book series. Book 4 will be out in the fall. I have my first contemporary coming out soon, from Soul Mate. I made a conscious decision to place my contemporary genre with a different publisher, to keep things straight in my own head and to expand (hopefully), my audience.

LH: This is easy for me…I’d invite Johnny Depp and I would not discuss movies! Who would you invite to dinner, living or dead, and what one topic would you NOT discuss with them?

BL:This is tough for me since I write historic and contemporary. I’ll have to take two. My historic head wants to talk to Thomas Jefferson about the westward expansion, but I would not talk to him about his relationship with Sally Hemings. The contemporary side of me wants to dress up in heels and thong panties and have a romantic dinner with David Gandy, the famous male model. And we wouldn’t talk about the other women in his life.

LH: I personally think that there is way too much sex and violence everywhere in society these days and it’s everywhere but that Hollywood is one of the biggest offenders.   Do you think that society as a whole is subjected to too much sex and violence and are you concerned about it? Which form of media do you think is the worst offender?

BL: I’m more worried about the violence I see on TV and in the movies. I think it desensitizes our youth into thinking nothing about pulling a gun on someone else. As for too much sex—if we didn’t have that, there would be no romance books and I’d be out of a job, so I’m in favor of it.

LH: I’m a huge softy and by no means a beauty queen… lol but, I truly would want world peace in the blink of an eye if I could make it happen…If you could change one thing in the world, in the blink of an eye, what would it be?

BL: We’re making great strides, but not fast enough in doing away with race and color in this country. My great-grandmother was part Indian and was the butt of many taunts her entire life.

LH: With the traditional bookstore becoming obsolete and everyone turning to buying books online, I don’t buy the hype that “the cover is everything”. How important do you think book covers are now that almost all shopping is done online?

BL: I still think covers are what draw you in, but the back cover blurbs are what makes a person buy.

LH: I love to see if I can see myself in a character. What interests you most about a story?

BL: Of course, you hope you can identify, or at least commiserate with a character. But the story line has to draw me in within the first chapter or two, or I put the book away.

LH: For me, I just get hit with this whole movie in my head and start writing. How do you come up with your stories?

BL: I usually know the beginning and how I want it to end, but I don’t start writing it until I draw up a simple outline of the highlights to see if there’s enough story to support an entire book.

LH: I can’t tell you or I’d have to…lol Are you working on anything now?

BL: I’m working on another contemporary right now, which is close to completion. I’ve got to get moving on Book 5 in the series. And, I have a time-travel that keeps coming back to me for revisions. Life’s never dull.

LH: I’m working on #6…3 are published and the other 3 are due out this year… How many books have you written? How many have been published?  I’ve got one under the bed that will never see the light of day. By the end of this year, I will have five books out there for public consumption.

LH: I write for fun I don’t even dream of riches…Do you write for fun or money?

BL: I write because it’s the only way to quiet the voices in my head. And, I have no illusions that this is an easy way to riches. But, I do treat it as a business, and hope to realize some income from it.

LH: I get asked all the time “Do you have any advice for new writers?”…Do you?

BL: The hardest thing for me has been to learn to trust myself and my voice. I took classes, had three different critique groups giving me feedback, entered contests and took all the judges’ comments to heart, and lost my sparkle in the process. Now that I know better, I’m working on repairing the damage done to my time travel, and I weigh the comments I now get and if I don’t agree with them, I throw the advice out.

LH: I would freak out if someone contacted me and said they wanted to make one of my books or my series of book into a movie as I am really very shy in person and I’d probably go into hiding. I don’t think I could handle it. How would you handle it? Who would be the first person you told?

BL: I’m hoping someone will come to me and tell me they want to turn my series into a movie! I even have the actress picked out for my first book in the series. I may be naive  but I don’t think my life would be changed or intruded upon all that much. The first people I’d tell would be my critique partners, since they would understand better than anyone else. And then, my family.

Thank you for that wonderful interview BL, I’m truly honored! …Now… for the fun stuff!

Favorite Beverage? Water.

Exercise or Bubble Bath? Bubble bath

Favorite Color? Blue

Take out or Dine in? Both.

Camping or Hotel? Camping

Sports or Chocolate? Neither

Dogs or Cats? Dog

Favorite Food? Chicken

Favorite Song? There are too many to choose from. Depends on my mood.

Favorite Movie? The Electric Horseman, White Christmas

Favorite Car? My Jeep

Sex or Chocolate? (The answer “Both” is totally acceptable 😉 Both, of course, preferably at the same time. Can be messy, but fun.

And now for the essay part of the interview 😉

LH: If you could go anywhere for a week, with anyone you wanted and no one would ever find out about it…where would you go, what would you do and who would you take?

BL: I’d take the hero of my latest contemporary, since he is incredibly sexy and takes care of his woman. I’d like to put the two of us on a deserted island. And as for what we would do…

Thank you for spending this time with us!  Make sure to pick up your copies of all of Becky Lower’s works 

at

http://www.amazon.com/Banking-Temperance-Crimson-Romance-ebook/dp/B00CA9DEX4/ref=sr_1_4?ie=UTF8&qid=1365595261&sr=8-4&keywords=becky+lower

9781440551420 (1) 9781440555916 (1) 9781440564109 download

Leave a comment

Filed under "AT" Author Tease Readings

Leave a Reply

