Today’s Tease…Jackson Paul Baer

Welcome! Pull up a seat and enjoy a chat with Today’s Tease Jackson Paul Baer

Your Name or Pen Name you use:  Jackson Paul Baer

Title of the book you are promoting:  The Earth Bleeds Red

Link to purchase your Book: http://jacksonpaulbaer.com/the-earth-bleeds-red/

Genre:  Literary Suspense

Welcome  JPB..I, LH have some questions for you 😉

LH: I wanted to be a ballerina, race car driver and a private detective when I was little. What did you want to be when you grew up?

JPB: I always wanted to be a teacher. I actually spent seven years as a youth pastor and am close to finishing my degree to become a high school English teacher now.

LH: I didn’t really have a literary influence, I just decided one day to start writing. Who influenced you in your writing career?

JPB: Many of my professors inspired me and encouraged me to keep writing. Joyce Carol Oates, Junot Diaz, and Sherman Alexie are my biggest influences.

LH: I self published all of my books and was then “discovered” by a publisher. Are you an Indie or published author?

JPB: I signed with Pandamoon Publishing for the release of my debut novel. I’m excited to be working with them and have a lot of respect for all authors, whether they self-publish or go the traditional route.

LH: This is easy for me…I’d invite Johnny Depp and I would not discuss movies!      Who would you invite to dinner, living or dead, and what one topic would you NOT discuss with them?

JPB: I’d invite Tim Tebow and not discuss Christianity.

LH: I personally think that there is way too much sex and violence everywhere in society these days and it’s everywhere but that Hollywood is one of the biggest contributors. Do you think that society as a whole is subjected to too much sex and violence and are you concerned about it? Ever feel conflicted and if so, why?

JPB: I definitely believe there is too much sex in our society but if it didn’t sell, they wouldn’t use it.

LH: I’m a huge softy and by no means a beauty queen… lol but, I truly would want world peace in the blink of an eye if I could make it happen…If you could change one thing in the world, in the blink of an eye, what would it be?

JPB: While you could make an argument for world peace, I’d say that solving the world’s hunger problem would be my first change.

LH: With the traditional bookstore becoming obsolete and everyone turning to buying books online, I don’t buy the hype that “the cover is everything”. How important do you think book covers are now that almost all shopping is done online?

JPB: I actually think you can judge a book by its cover. I’m guilty of passing over books when the cover doesn’t grab my attention. Just as important, however, is the title. A book has to have an eye-catching cover and an intriguing title for me to read it.

LH: I can remember wanting to write as a kid. I got a really late start! Have you always wanted to write and when did you start?

JPB: I have always wanted to write. I used to write songs all the time and even a little poetry growing up. I started more novels than I can remember as a kid and as a young adult. It wasn’t until this past year, I’m 29 now, that I committed to writing and wouldn’t give it up for anything.

LH: I love to see if I can see myself in a character. What interests you most about a story?                                                         JPB: The flaws. I love imperfection.

LH: For me, I just get hit with this whole movie in my head and start writing. How do you come up with your stories?

JPB: Pretty much the same way though I do write out major points here and there so I don’t forget the thoughts when I have them. Usually, those points change when I actually write the story but they are still helpful for me.

LH: I can’t tell you or I’d have to…lol Are you working on anything now?

JPB: Yes, my first novel, The Earth Bleeds Red, is due out at the end of August (2013). I’m about halfway through my second novel, The Lights Will Never Fade. It’s a literary psychological thriller.

LH: I write for fun I don’t even dream of riches…Do you write for fun or money?

JPB: I write for sanity. I absolutely have to tell these stories and I hope that readers will enjoy them and relate to the complex stories inside.

LH: I have never experienced writers block…I have experienced writers “don’t want to”… Have you ever experienced writers block and if so, how did you overcome it?

JPB: Honestly, very rarely. When I do get writer’s block, I usually go back and edit and then new ideas pop into my head.

LH: I get asked all the time “Do you have any advice for new writers?”… Do you?

JPB: Yes, write. Write everyday no matter how much or how little. Don’t get discouraged by negative people or criticism. Instead, use it to make your writing better and know that the only person that can stop you is you.

LH: I would not change one thing in my life as I would not be me if I did… If you could go back in time and change one thing in your life, what would it be?

JPB: I would spend more time with my kids. The only thing I can’t get back is time and I’m determined not to waste it.

LH: If I could go back in time and tell someone something, I’d go back and tell the founding fathers they were doing a few things wrong…If you could go back in time and tell someone something, who would you tell and what would you tell them?

JPB: I would tell my parents to start something called Google, 25 years ago J

LH: I would freak out if someone contacted me and said they wanted to make one of my books or my series of book into a movie as I am really very shy in person and I’d probably go into hiding. I don’t think I could handle it. How would you handle it? Who would be the first person you told?

JPB: First, I would tell my wife. I would be incredibly excited but also nervous that the movie wouldn’t truly reflect the novel. Still, I’d love the chance to have my book turned into a movie.

Thank you for the awesome interview JPB…Now…for the fun stuff!

Favorite Beverage? Sugar-free orange Rockstar

Exercise or Bubble Bath? Exercise

Favorite Color? Blue

Take out or Dine in? Take out

Camping or Hotel? Hotel

Sports or Chocolate? Sports

Dogs or Cats? Dogs

Favorite Food? Fried Chicken

Favorite Song? Adam’s Song by Blink 182

Favorite Movie? Dumb and Dumber… and With Honors

Favorite Car? 57’ Chevy

Sex or Chocolate? (The answer “Both” is totally acceptable 😉 Sex, then chocolate

And now for the essay part of the interview 😉

If you could go anywhere for a week, with anyone you wanted and no one would ever find out about it…where would you go, what would you do and who would you take?

JPB: My wife and I just celebrated our 10-year anniversary last year and we went to Ireland to celebrate. I want to go back to Ireland with her and stay as long as we possibly could. We married young, I was 19 and she was 22, but 10 years and 4 kids later, we’re still hanging on.

Thank you for spending this time with us. Make sure to pick up your copy of Jackson Paul Baer’s

The Earth Bleeds Red

at

http://jacksonpaulbaer.com/the-earth-bleeds-red/

255399_4760277886077_1581890742_n942418_461826800574604_2051692067_n

Welcome! Pull up a seat and enjoy a chat with Today’s Tease Jackson Paul Baer

Your Name or Pen Name you use:  Jackson Paul Baer

Title of the book you are promoting:  The Earth Bleeds Red

Link to purchase your Book: http://jacksonpaulbaer.com/the-earth-bleeds-red/

Genre:  Literary Suspense

Welcome  JPB..I, LH have some questions for you 😉

LH: I wanted to be a ballerina, race car driver and a private detective when I was little. What did you want to be when you grew up?

JPB: I always wanted to be a teacher. I actually spent seven years as a youth pastor and am close to finishing my degree to become a high school English teacher now.

LH: I didn’t really have a literary influence, I just decided one day to start writing. Who influenced you in your writing career?

JPB: Many of my professors inspired me and encouraged me to keep writing. Joyce Carol Oates, Junot Diaz, and Sherman Alexie are my biggest influences.

LH: I self published all of my books and was then “discovered” by a publisher. Are you an Indie or published author?

JPB: I signed with Pandamoon Publishing for the release of my debut novel. I’m excited to be working with them and have a lot of respect for all authors, whether they self-publish or go the traditional route.

LH: This is easy for me…I’d invite Johnny Depp and I would not discuss movies!      Who would you invite to dinner, living or dead, and what one topic would you NOT discuss with them?

JPB: I’d invite Tim Tebow and not discuss Christianity.

LH: I personally think that there is way too much sex and violence everywhere in society these days and it’s everywhere but that Hollywood is one of the biggest contributors. Do you think that society as a whole is subjected to too much sex and violence and are you concerned about it? Ever feel conflicted and if so, why?

JPB: I definitely believe there is too much sex in our society but if it didn’t sell, they wouldn’t use it.

LH: I’m a huge softy and by no means a beauty queen… lol but, I truly would want world peace in the blink of an eye if I could make it happen…If you could change one thing in the world, in the blink of an eye, what would it be?

JPB: While you could make an argument for world peace, I’d say that solving the world’s hunger problem would be my first change.

LH: With the traditional bookstore becoming obsolete and everyone turning to buying books online, I don’t buy the hype that “the cover is everything”. How important do you think book covers are now that almost all shopping is done online?

JPB: I actually think you can judge a book by its cover. I’m guilty of passing over books when the cover doesn’t grab my attention. Just as important, however, is the title. A book has to have an eye-catching cover and an intriguing title for me to read it.

LH: I can remember wanting to write as a kid. I got a really late start! Have you always wanted to write and when did you start?

JPB: I have always wanted to write. I used to write songs all the time and even a little poetry growing up. I started more novels than I can remember as a kid and as a young adult. It wasn’t until this past year, I’m 29 now, that I committed to writing and wouldn’t give it up for anything.

LH: I love to see if I can see myself in a character. What interests you most about a story?                                                         JPB: The flaws. I love imperfection.

LH: For me, I just get hit with this whole movie in my head and start writing. How do you come up with your stories?

JPB: Pretty much the same way though I do write out major points here and there so I don’t forget the thoughts when I have them. Usually, those points change when I actually write the story but they are still helpful for me.

LH: I can’t tell you or I’d have to…lol Are you working on anything now?

JPB: Yes, my first novel, The Earth Bleeds Red, is due out at the end of August (2013). I’m about halfway through my second novel, The Lights Will Never Fade. It’s a literary psychological thriller.

LH: I write for fun I don’t even dream of riches…Do you write for fun or money?

JPB: I write for sanity. I absolutely have to tell these stories and I hope that readers will enjoy them and relate to the complex stories inside.

LH: I have never experienced writers block…I have experienced writers “don’t want to”… Have you ever experienced writers block and if so, how did you overcome it?

JPB: Honestly, very rarely. When I do get writer’s block, I usually go back and edit and then new ideas pop into my head.

LH: I get asked all the time “Do you have any advice for new writers?”… Do you?

JPB: Yes, write. Write everyday no matter how much or how little. Don’t get discouraged by negative people or criticism. Instead, use it to make your writing better and know that the only person that can stop you is you.

LH: I would not change one thing in my life as I would not be me if I did… If you could go back in time and change one thing in your life, what would it be?

JPB: I would spend more time with my kids. The only thing I can’t get back is time and I’m determined not to waste it.

LH: If I could go back in time and tell someone something, I’d go back and tell the founding fathers they were doing a few things wrong…If you could go back in time and tell someone something, who would you tell and what would you tell them?

JPB: I would tell my parents to start something called Google, 25 years ago J

LH: I would freak out if someone contacted me and said they wanted to make one of my books or my series of book into a movie as I am really very shy in person and I’d probably go into hiding. I don’t think I could handle it. How would you handle it? Who would be the first person you told?

JPB: First, I would tell my wife. I would be incredibly excited but also nervous that the movie wouldn’t truly reflect the novel. Still, I’d love the chance to have my book turned into a movie.

Thank you for the awesome interview JPB…Now…for the fun stuff!

Favorite Beverage? Sugar-free orange Rockstar

Exercise or Bubble Bath? Exercise

Favorite Color? Blue

Take out or Dine in? Take out

Camping or Hotel? Hotel

Sports or Chocolate? Sports

Dogs or Cats? Dogs

Favorite Food? Fried Chicken

Favorite Song? Adam’s Song by Blink 182

Favorite Movie? Dumb and Dumber… and With Honors

Favorite Car? 57’ Chevy

Sex or Chocolate? (The answer “Both” is totally acceptable 😉 Sex, then chocolate

And now for the essay part of the interview 😉

If you could go anywhere for a week, with anyone you wanted and no one would ever find out about it…where would you go, what would you do and who would you take?

JPB: My wife and I just celebrated our 10-year anniversary last year and we went to Ireland to celebrate. I want to go back to Ireland with her and stay as long as we possibly could. We married young, I was 19 and she was 22, but 10 years and 4 kids later, we’re still hanging on.

Thank you for spending this time with us. Make sure to pick up your copy of Jackson Paul Baer’s

 

The Earth Bleeds Red

at

http://jacksonpaulbaer.com/the-earth-bleeds-red/

255399_4760277886077_1581890742_n942418_461826800574604_2051692067_n

Leave a comment

Filed under "AT" Author Tease Readings

Leave a Reply

