Raising Children…

A friend of a friend of mine made a comment about her being able to see the other friend not allowing her children to come into contact with strangers and keeping them locked in the house due to fear.  Long gone are the days of sleeping with your doors unlocked, letting your children roam the streets until the street lights come on and not arming young children with cell phones, alarm equipped backpacks and in some cases, mace.

My response was this:

OMG! You just made me lol…You just described my youngest daughter! When she announced she was thinking about home schooling her son (an only child) I said “Oh, good idea, the world needs another serial killer…” I was so, not kidding as that kid NEEDS and now THRIVES around his peers!

I raised 4 kids, they all went to head start, they all went to public school and they all turned out to be happy, healthy and relatively normal. I say relatively because, well, I am their mother…

They don’t have “crazy, dangerous, child molester or abusive” chips in people that we can scan….yet. You just have to trust that wonderful thing we mothers have that’s called “women’s instinct” and let them go do and be who they are going to be because at some point, you will have no control, no matter what you do and will you’ll have to come to peace with it.

I need to write an instruction manual for child rearing, it would be simple! It would read…

“Congratulations on your new baby! Feed them, wash them, love and cherish them because the rest of it is instinct!” The End

It’s all so true 🙂

All 4 8-18-12 031

5 Comments

Filed under "AT" Author Tease Readings

5 responses to “Raising Children…

  1. I hate to tell you, but those people have been around for a long, long time. There just weren’t as many people of any kind, but they were still there. My mother put the fear of God into me when I was three years old. “You are never, never to be alone with Uncle Fred (he was one of my maternal aunt’s husband). If he tries to put you on his lap, start screaming and run.” I heeded her words & was never alone with the man. I could go on, but you get the idea. Some mothers (like mine) were wise enough to know when to warn and how to warn.

    • Yes Mari, they have been around a long, long time. There are just more of them now. I unfortunately was never warned about my maternal grandfather but that’s neither here nor there.

      There are things we cannot know and things we cannot control. Control what you can and pray for the strength to handle the things you cannot possibly know 😉 and yes, you may quote me lol

  2. Yes very well said – so true! I am a single mother of 3 girls, 2 of them teenagers and one 9 year old who just thinks she is LOL but I have major issues myself as I am a sufferer of depression, anxieties and agoraphobia and I can’t put a finger on why this has happened – I haven’t always been confined to my house! It is something that snuck up on me. However my children are very independent, all of them and I have been very conscious throughout their upbringing to BE social with them (now is a blip on my life) – I used to take all of them to all the right toddler groups and dancing and such and I even ran my own music and movement toddler group for a while and as they grew up, I was aware that they needed to be able to play out with their friends in the neighbourhood and that at some point they needed to walk to school on their own. I’m not proud of much in my life where my own problems are concerned – but my children and their maturity and independence – I’m very proud of that! 🙂

    • Laura,

      I too am proud of your children because they have a strong mother. Don’t sell yourself short, just because you’re having difficulties now does not erase anything, good or bad that you’ve done in the past. You have to accentuate the positive and forgive the negative.

      I’m going to share a little secret with you…and I guess maybe the world if anyone else reads this lol On May 22nd of this year, my 47th birthday, I was sitting in the office of a mental health professional. My depression, anxiety and agoraphobia had gotten so bad that I knew I had to do something about it. It was the best birthday gift I could have ever given myself.

      I urge you…no..I beg you, CALL…today. There are counselors out there that will treat you for free if you can’t afford it and/or have no health insurance. If you can’t find anyone, email me and I’ll find someone for you!

      You have to be present for your children and right now, you’re not even present for yourself and there is a reason for it. You need to figure out the reason.

      I will keep you in my thoughts and hope that you’ll know that you can email me at leannaharrow@gmail anytime you feel like it even if you have nothing more to say then “hello.”

      I wish you and yours the best!

      L

Leave a Reply

