Today’s Tease…Irene Chain Kalinowski

Welcome! Pull up a seat and enjoy a chat with Today’s Tease Irene Chain Kalinowski

Your Name or Pen Name you use:  Irene Chain Kalinowski

Title of the book you are promoting:  My Body MY baby

 Link to purchase your Book:  http://www.amazon.com/Irene-Chain-Kalinowski/e/B00CP0EJ4Q

 Genre:  Women’s Health, Pregnancy, Childbirth

Welcome  ICK….I, LH have some questions for you 😉

LH: I wanted to be a ballerina, race car driver and a private detective when I was little. What did you want to be when you grew up?

ICK: A singer but I only managed to sing in the bath and listening to that you would know why that never happened.  I wanted to write but growing up with a family who did not speak English and I came bottom in the class in my English. First in German and French.

LH: I didn’t really have a literary influence, I just decided one day to start writing. Who influenced you in your writing career?

ICK: My Students who wanted me to share my experience ‘You hold so much experience and knowledge you should be changing the world of Midwifery’. So I wrote The Heart and Soul of Midwifery. Then my women told me exactly the same and it was painful to see so many traumas around childbirth when I had been practicing so differently and know that women should never be traumatized after childbirth. so I wrote my body my baby and then because I have had a life time of stories and sharing experiences I wrote Let it Be.  Which I am currently finalizing the editing and it will be released in a few weeks. And I have started my 4th book. ‘With Woman with Midwife with Me’ and there are plans for book number 5. That is all within 18 months. The words just flow and that is probably because I have lived those experiences and the knowledge I have acquired through motivation to analyze everything.

I find writing to be quite healing and more so when what I write about makes a difference.  I had completed two books and Jonathon Cainer sent my horoscope ‘You should be an Author’. I was travelling to the UK and met an Expatriate who looked over my shoulder as I was reading my body my baby ‘Can I see?’ he asked.  ‘My goodness that book will make a difference because it is full of the realities and real life experiences’ I didn’t even know him.

I don’t know if you believe in destiny, but my makers had plans for me.

‘Life is like a musical Jigsaw puzzle and when you play the pieces together and share them you can create a symphony and that can change the world’

LH: I self published all of my books and was then “discovered” by a publisher. Are you an Indie or published author?

ICK: No I am self-published, my first company didn’t see the difference I was about to make and I felt they were selling packages that did not suit my book. The came Marcus Winters and Book whirl. They just picked me off the shelf. I am so pleased that they did because I want women all around the world to celebrate birth.

LH: As an Indie Author, I was hesitant about being with a publishing company. If you are an Indie author, would you like to be published by a traditional publisher and if so, why or why not?

ICK: If I get a published author it would be good I have invested my savings some $100,000 to make a difference for women globally and I want to raise funds to build a birthing unit for women. It just takes one that makes that difference and then the rest will follow, that is my dream.

You know I like being with bookwhirl and I like to have the freedom just like women need freedom to make choices around childbirth. I have learned that in life if you become attached to an institution you freedom goes and I value my freedom too much because if my freedom goes then does my ability to make a difference. Hope that makes sense.

LH: This is easy for me…I’d invite Johnny Depp and I would not discuss movies!  Who would you invite to dinner, living or dead, and what one topic would you NOT discuss with them?

ICK: Princess Diana and I would not discuss Charles I would talk about her meeting with Dodi as in my book Let it be Janet and Dianna are alike, actually I am Janet and I tasted the forbidden fruit whilst working in Bahrain.

LH: I personally think that there is way too much sex and violence everywhere in society these days and it’s everywhere but that Hollywood is one of the biggest contributors.   Do you think that society as a whole is subjected to too much sex and violence and are you concerned about it? Ever feel conflicted and if so, why?

ICK: Actually yes the American imports. I have a polish background and there is no violence on Polish television. I suppose I am a homeopath and I wonder if childbirth traumas have a lot to do with what we generate. The foods we eat do and we know we carry synapse genes so if births are rushed or forced I wonder how that child grows up.

I have a friend and his niece is studying film in London and the only practical advice given to her was to do Horror movies as they bring most money.

I went to the UK and my friend’s daughter was 16 flipped schools and she was on the legal highs. Whilst visiting I saw she was lost so I brought her to New Zealand where we spent 6 weeks sharing stories and by doing that she had grown and matured. She returned back to school and from a family torn by divorce and drugs, they are now together, no drugs and have hope of a future.

School dinners where you would sit around and learn to communicate were the best but they have gone and so have the regular meal times around the table. So have the community centers where kids go with parents. I learned sensible drinking and who loves vodka better than the Poles. My parents taught me about being sociable without getting pissed!

Sometimes I look at the 26 some cultures here in New Zealand and my Indian community’s value family traditions far more than Europeans. My polish background I was never exposed to drugs or violence and I guess that the values are missing from some ethnicities. Let’s face it Hollywood had gone too far and it is running out of Ideas.

Anything is addictive and sex becomes addictive when there is too much of it and relationships breakdown as sexual desires are not fulfilled. Let’s be realistic not everybody fulfills the road perfectly. I remember a colleague visiting me her daughter had two boyfriends do I marry the one who is good at sex or the one that can provide me with a future.  I remember going to polish functions and people would have fun dance and Polka, people were not groping on benches and having sex in front of your eyes,

LH: I’m a huge softy and by no means a beauty queen… lol but, I truly would want world peace in the blink of an eye if I could make it happen…If you could change one thing in the world, in the blink of an eye, what would it be?

ICK: I would want to make a huge change and if I could jump back in time I would change the differences with the prince and paupers I would remove the colonial influences that brought slavery and greed. We would be an integrated world that would hug and kiss one another and respect on another. The world would be full of sharing and caring

LH: With the traditional bookstore becoming obsolete and everyone turning to buying books online, I don’t buy the hype that “the cover is everything”. How important do you think book covers are now that almost all shopping is done online?

I don’t I think that the soul of the author tells everything. YOU ONLY HAVE TO LOOK AT u TUBE AND SEE PEOPLE TALKING ABOUT CHILDBIRTH. I fall asleep as the academia has lost humanity.

LH: I can remember wanting to write as a kid. I got a really late start! Have you always wanted to write and when did you start?

ICK: I tore my tendon in Bahrain and I was in a hospital bed for 8 weeks with a typewriter and I wrote poems. My friend stole them and sent them to be published I had 4 published and I thought nothing of it. Actually I plagiarized a 1959 Judy annual for my English and got a grade D so I never bought that book again. My nephew had to write a poem and I wrote about the woods in autumn He got an A. I then began to believe in myself.

Ok so one of my first poems went something like this

Them old age pensioners store it in jars,

Them that’s stole gets crammed behind bars

Them that’s just spent it is in debt to their ears

Them that’s invested it can’t touch it and burdened with fears

Them that’s worked hard for it

It is divided by three

We in the middle need more than a bit

This bloody government thinks we are all thick

Show me the man who invented money

It’s no joke, not even funny

I’ll put his neck through a wringing machine

And just like the pound I’ll watch him turn green.

LH: I love to see if I can see myself in a character. What interests you most about a story?

ICK: Actually my name Irene is derived from the Greek goddess of peace. So she becomes the character in the books sharing real life stories bringing forgiveness, laughter, tears and humanity what else can I say

LH: For me, I just get hit with this whole movie in my head and start writing. How do you come up with your stories?

ICK: Life’s experiences and the people around me. I had my friend’s daughter just sixteen and her stories would make a good movie, or the grandmother at a home I visit. I am lucky because every home I go to puts a movie in my head. Be it a student from Afghanistan or Somalia. I have so many stories that the world needs to know about.

LH: I can’t tell you or I’d have to…lol Are you working on anything now?

ICK: My next book will be called I did it my way. It’s a story based on the life of my parents escaping from Poland and with the traumas come the funny stories of adapting to a new country, hard work, struggles and optimism.

LH: I’m working on #6…3 are published and the other 3 are due out this year… How many books have you written? How many have been published?

ICK: Two books on childbirth and midwifery then let it be starts as two young children and Janet goes through the heartaches and fairytale’s of live through many continents.

LH: I write for fun I don’t even dream of riches…Do you write for fun or money?

ICK: I write to make a difference and it is fun. I could have been very rich but money is just a vehicle and if there is enough to pay the bills and enjoy friendships that is enough

LH: Some of my family members had a bit of a problem with me writing my first book “A Beautiful Liar” because the character Maggie West is basically me…to a point 😉 They had a problem with the genre and me “putting it all out there” so to speak so I took a pen name. They eventually came around as I have never cared who knows who I am what I’ve done or what they think of me. I’ve never wanted to be famous, just infamous! What has been your biggest problem when it comes to family or friends when writing?

ICK: Some comments about the stories they sometimes laugh at me and sometimes give me their insights. I have given them copies of the books but to be truthful they are in their own world. I don’t know if they read all the way through the books. My family is in England and I love them dearly but they live in their much closed world. I grew distant as I travelled. I go to visit them every two years and enjoy being with them but I have changed. There is nothing we wouldn’t do for one another if we needed support but dad let us grow to be individuals. I think that you need to be inspired by your freedom and your own soul and you need to feel free to do that. I am Janet in Let it is and it doesn’t worry me what they say. It’s a bit like I don’t go and make comments about their homes or the way they live. I love them just the way they are and they have learned to love me for being the black sheep of the family. Sometimes I go home and let my hair down. “How could you possible hold such a responsible job? They would ask.  It’s not easy with siblings but as we grow older we do become closer.

I took the best man out to dinner from my first wedding, last time I was home and I just told them it was my life and I wish that they could enjoy it the way I do.

LH: I have never experienced writers block…I have experienced writers “don’t want to”… Have you ever experienced writers block and if so, how did you overcome it?

ICK: I have started something and all going to plan and then the chapter doesn’t feel right so I close down the computer and take a day off then I trust the universe and incidents happen that put me back on track. It’s having faith I think.

LH: I get asked all the time “Do you have any advice for new writers?”… Do you?

ICK: A midwife was considering doing her PHD or writing a book she asked me how I planned mine. I had to say that I just wrote what came into my head. Of course I am very practical so writing is not an issue.

I would like to say if someone was going self-published they really need to know who their audience is and they need to know what they want to promote as I fell for the trap of being sold marketing that didn’t suit my needs.  I certainly learned a lot about business and the politics of the publishing industry.

When I look for a publishing company they need to have just as much enthusiasm as I hold. They need to be able to talk with me and not at me.

LH: I would not change one thing in my life as I would not be me if I did… If you could go back in time and change one thing in your life, what would it be?

ICK: Nothing as it has been full of adventure, fairytales and heartache. I have met so many wonderful people, and with my work it is never ending. I visit almost 26 ethnicities in a year. I was president of the Auckland Polish association. I have met so many young artists, politicians, dancers, and cultures. I managed to raise some $70,000 in grants from communities and I have even cooked dinner for 100 people to raise funds.  My life has taken me from England to America, to the Middle East and to New Zealand. I have visited most countries but I must go to India and that is on my Bucket list. I am going to do some work in Fiji in August to help reduce maternal mortality rates and I hope to go to the Philippines in March.

When I asked that question to my father he said exactly the same he would change nothing yet his life was working to build a home for each child. He was rich with his family and bestowed his wisdom to me.

LH: If I could go back in time and tell someone something, I’d go back and tell the founding fathers they were doing a few things wrong…If you could go back in time and tell someone something, who would you tell and what would you tell them?

ICK: I would tell the medical profession to go back to basics and start again with a more humanistic and individualized approach. I’m saying that now with my books. ‘Doctors bungle births too!’

LH: I would freak out if someone contacted me and said they wanted to make one of my books or my series of book into a movie as I am really very shy in person and I’d probably go into hiding. I don’t think I could handle it. How would you handle it? Who would be the first person you told?

ICK: My openings started a long time ago when I studied homeopathy, I was very shy and would not speak out. I inherited synaptic genes from my father and the war. That was fixed by one homeopathic remedy. Then I had to teach midwives how to use it safely. I had a quiet voice so I looked up a Radio presenter her in NZ. The Late Marie Stoddard and she videoed me presenting. An elephant had more grace than I had, but she worked with me. Then I took elocution lessons to throw out my voice and I never looked back. In my field of work I am the voice of a woman who does not have one that means sometimes overturning decisions and challenging peers.  Don’t worry if it is to make a difference I would be right out there. If I start something I must finish it. That’s Polish pride.

Thank you for that heartwarming and heartfelt interview ICK…Now… for the fun stuff!

Favorite Beverage? Used to be Bacardi and coke or Wbrowka polish vodka but now I am mature the body can’t take it so it’s a lovely cup of tea with honey.

Exercise or Bubble Bath? Lots of bubbles when I get the chance. I park my car on the road and walk up and down the hills here visiting women. Other than that cleaning the Polish club floors if we can’t afford a cleaner.

Favorite Color? RED

Take out or Dine in? I love my polish food wrapped cabbages, green bean and potato soup. I have lived my life in 5 star restaurants and hotels so I like to be at home with family.

Camping or Hotel? Used to be camping when I was in the Middle East the heat and the star filled skies. Too many mosquitos here in NZ. Usually hotels where I can meet people just like me don’t need the 5 star anymore.  Took the Kiwi Backpackers bus to do a tour of the south island. ‘Aren’t you a little too old for this?’ the tourist guide asked. ‘Watch me” I replied

Sports or Chocolate? Neither I used to play all sports and eat chocolate, but I lost my bowel now I am very savory.
Dogs or Cats? Cats my cat gave birth to her kittens on my bed she trusted me and I trusted her. I’m like a cat really can want lots of love and warmth but can give it up to do other things.

Favorite Food?  Polish Sausages

Favorite Song? Bruce Springsteen out in the street

Favorite Movie? Mental

Favorite Car? Anything that gets me from A to B

Sex or Chocolate? (The answer “Both” is totally acceptable 😉 Love hugs and cuddles and a loving relationship then the above. My husband is much older than I. we can write better books than Jackie Collins between the two of us all a part of history

And now for the essay part of the interview 😉

LH: If you could go anywhere for a week, with anyone you wanted and no one would ever find out about it…where would you go, what would you do and who would you take?

ICK:Mexico, Acapulco, there is a small village Caletta which stands on the hill. You can find beautiful villas on the internet. We would drink corona under the mango tree. We would visit parador Del sol. I would take my husband.  We would lounge on the hammocks drink coco locos by the Pacific Ocean, watch the stars at night. Eat the fresh seafood take a boat on the lagoon. Then out to the sea where we would see the dolphins. We would dance to the Mariachis and play with the children on the streets and mix with the locals. I would take money and treat the kids there.

I have been to many beautiful places in the world but Acapulco was and is my favorite.

Thank you for spending this time with us. Make sure to pick up your copies of Irene Chain Kalinowski work

at

http://www.amazon.com/Irene-Chain-Kalinowski/e/B00CP0EJ4Q 

51fN1w4-fcL._SL190_PIsitb-sticker-arrow-dp,TopRight,12,-18_SH30_OU01_AA190_ 51Mw3+KkhbL._SL190_PIsitb-sticker-arrow-dp,TopRight,12,-18_SH30_OU01_AA190_ photo (8)

Leave a comment

Filed under "AT" Author Tease Readings

Leave a Reply

