Today’s Tease…Katie McKnight

Welcome! Pull up a seat and enjoy a chat with Today’s Tease Katie McKnight

Your Name or Pen Name you use:    Katie McKnight

Title of the book you are promoting:  Secrets Revealed

Link to purchase your Book:  http://eternalpress.biz/people.php?author=545 http://www.amazon.com/Secrets-Revealed-ebook/dp/B00EE0I874/ref=sr_1_1?ie=UTF8&qid=1382840605&sr=8-1&keywords=Secrets+Revealed

Genre:  Suspenseful romance

Welcome  KM…I, LH have some questions for you 😉

Hello!  Thank you for inviting me.

LH: I wanted to be a ballerina, race car driver and a private detective when I was little. What did you want to be when you grew up?

KM: I wanted to be a stage actress and a police officer.

LH: I didn’t really have a literary influence, I just decided one day to start writing. Who influenced you in your writing career?

KM: At twenty-five, my husband underwent heart surgery for a hole in his heart.  This was the first “grown up” problem I had to deal with.  At the time, ASD repair (hole in the heart) required full open-heart surgery. Unable to control my emotions and fears, I turned to journaling. Before I knew it, real life documentation turned into short stories and finally full-length novels.  Twenty years later, my husband’s heart is healthy and my first book is published.

LH: I self-published all of my books and was then “discovered” by a publisher. Are you an Indie or published author?

KM: Eternal Press (I think you may know them {wink wink}) published my book.

LH: This is easy for me…I’d invite Johnny Depp and I would not discuss movies! Who would you invite to dinner, living or dead, and what one topic would you NOT discuss with them?

KM: I would invite Tatum Channing and would not discuss his wife or new baby.  :} He’d be too busy performing his Magic Mike dance routine for me.

LH: I personally think that there is way too much sex and violence everywhere in society these days and it’s everywhere but that Hollywood is one of the biggest contributors. Do you think that society as a whole is subjected to too much sex and violence and are you concerned about it? Ever feel conflicted and if so, why?

KM: I wish our children could experience television as we had when we were young.  Laverne and Shirley and Happy Days were shows my family and I gathered around the television to watch.  Today, even on network television, parents have to worry about content with their children.  Recently, I brought my sons to the movies (their ages range from 12 to 16).  Foolishly, I did not read the synopsis and spent most of the viewing slunk down in my chair filled with embarrassment.  Unfortunately, today’s children are growing up around crude behavior and are worldlier than we were as children.  Several times I’ve attempted to watch shows from my childhood with my kids.  They hate the shows.  I have to be honest, they really were silly.  Like the saying goes, “you can’t go back.”

LH: I’m a huge softy and by no means a beauty queen… lol but, I truly would want world peace in the blink of an eye if I could make it happen…If you could change one thing in the world, in the blink of an eye, what would it be?

KM: I would end bullying for children and adults affected by this cruel behavior.  Somehow I would instill the importance of being kind to all people from the moment they are born.

LH: With the traditional bookstore becoming obsolete and everyone turning to buying books online, I don’t buy the hype that “the cover is everything”. How important do you think book covers are now that almost all shopping is done online?

KM: To be honest, I admire nice book covers, but do not decide whether or not I will purchase a book based on the cover.  A catchy title, a great synopsis and the first page of a book is the most important for me.

LH: I can remember wanting to write as a kid. I got a really late start! Have you always wanted to write and when did you start?

KM: I wrote a couple stories in elementary school.  A teacher entered one story in a contest and I placed as a runner up.  Other than that, I hated to read and writing never crossed my mind.  I preferred to spend my time on the stage or dancing at football games (with the kickline – not some crazy girl dancing in the bleachers :}) I did not discover my love of reading and writing until I entered my twenties.

LH: I love to see if I can see myself in a character. What interests you most about a story?

KM: I like three-dimensional characters.  The story could be top notch, but if the characters feel like cardboard cutouts, I’m disappointed.

LH: For me, I just get hit with this whole movie in my head and start writing. How do you come up with your stories?

KM: Secrets Revealed started as a 15 second dream about a woman who did not get along with her in-laws.   For whatever reason, I could not get the dream out of my head until I wrote the character’s story.  How do you write an entire book without adding action?  In order to make the story interesting to others, I included my fascination with real life murder mysteries and stalking cases.

LH: I can’t tell you or I’d have to…lol Are you working on anything now?

KM: I am working on another suspenseful(ish) story about a wife who learns her entire marriage is based on lies.  I am also researching information for a cute mystery series I’d like to write.   Something similar to author Leslie Meier’s work (I love her books).

LH: I’m working on #6…5 have been published and the last is due out this year… How many books have you written? How many have been published?

KM: Secrets Revealed is my first book and it was published in August 2013 by Eternal Press.  While I have written other novels, I never felt connected enough with the characters to finish their story.  I’ve set those manuscripts aside and will eventually return to them to see if they go anywhere.

LH: I write for fun I don’t even dream of riches…Do you write for fun or money?

KM: We all want our books into the hands of readers.  I work every day to get the word out on Secrets Revealed.  Whether the book generates a million dollars or ten dollars, I’ll continue to write.  I love writing.  Maybe one day my grandchildren or great-grandchildren will pick up the book and read it.  My mother found one of those old fashion leather billfolds belonging to my great-grandfather. He stored his keys inside of the billfold (you know that one with all of the key rings inside). In the pocket of this keychain was a piece of paper with his address.  First of all, how nice it must have been to live in a world where you can list your address on your keychain and not fear someone will break into your house.  It was also nice to have something he owned (and contained his handwriting).Imagine if he wrote a book?  That would be awesome.

LH: Some of my family members had a bit of a problem with me writing my first book “A Beautiful Liar” because the character Maggie West is basically me…to a point 😉 They had a problem with the genre and me “putting it all out there” so to speak so I took a pen name. They eventually came around as I have never cared who knows who I am what I’ve done or what they think of me. I’ve never wanted to be famous, just infamous! What has been your biggest problem when it comes to family or friends when writing?

KM: Secrets Revealed has very small personality traits belonging to some family members, as well as, myself.  My family and friends giggled when they recognized the traits while reading the book.  The problem I faced were phone calls from people believing a negative trait or character was based on them.  It took a great deal of convincing to ensure people that the characters and negative traits were fictional.

LH: I have never experienced writers block…I have experienced writers “don’t want to”… Have you ever experienced writers block and if so, how did you overcome it?

KM: The words flow out of my brain, through my fingers and on to the page with ease (so far).  My problem:  I tend to get pretty far into my manuscript and I encounter cold feet.  All of a sudden, I feel the manuscript is horrible, I find it difficult to connect with the characters and fear no one will be interested in the story. I recently completed 32 chapters of my second novel and then decided to go in another direction.  Ugh!

My writing teacher encouraged me to set the project aside and work on something else. Sure enough, when I returned to the original manuscript, I faced it with a positive attitude.  I disagree with my original assessment. Does it need improvement?  Of course, I’ve only written the first draft. Is it rubbish?  I no longer think so.  My mother is on her way over to my house to pick up the second draft.  I guess I’ll learn the truth soon enough.

LH: I get asked all the time “Do you have any advice for new writers?”… Do you?

KM: I am far from an expert (Mrs. one published book), but…I’d like to share two pieces of advice:

(1)               Every writer has three voices in their head.  (1) the character; (2) the cheerleader (3) Debbie Downer.  Ask your mental cheerleader to gag Debbie Downer.  She will discourage you and destroy your self-confidence.  Join a writing group so the participants can critique your work. Hide it from mental Debbie Downer.

(2)                Never give up.  If one publishing company turns you down, keep going until you find someone.  The rejection is not always a reflection on your work.  Sometimes, the manuscript needs some polishing and other times, the acquisitions manager just didn’t like it.  We all have our own taste in books.  Keep going until you find someone who appreciates the genre you write.

LH: I would freak out if someone contacted me and said they wanted to make one of my books or my series of book into a movie as I am really very shy in person and I’d probably go into hiding. I don’t think I could handle it. How would you handle it? Who would be the first person you told?

KM: I would dance and sing and scream from the rooftop.  Then I would conference my mother and sister on the line and tell them.  They are my beta readers and walk this journey right beside me.  I would probably hide the information from my teenaged sons. They check the mail every afternoon for royalty checks. I’d like my hand to warm the check before they spend it.

Thank you for that thoughtful and thorough interview KM…Now… for the fun stuff!

Favorite Beverage?    Diet Coke

Exercise or Bubble Bath?  Exercise. I’m too tightly wound to enjoy a bubble bath.

Favorite Color?  purple

Take out or Dine in?  Usually dine in.  Let someone else clean up dinner.

Camping or Hotel?  Glamping (glamorized camping) I spend all summer glamping.

Sports or Chocolate?  Chocolate
Dogs or Cats?  dogs

Favorite Food?  Burger and fries

Favorite Song?  A Thousand Years (song from Breaking Dawn)

Favorite Movie?  Anything in the horror genre

Sex or Chocolate? (The answer “Both” is totally acceptable 😉  Sex covered in chocolate

And now for the essay part of the interview 😉

LH: If you could go anywhere for a week, with anyone you wanted and no one would ever find out about it…where would you go, what would you do and who would you take?

KM: This selfish response is going to make so many people angry.  Here we go.  I would go to Hawaii and book a cottage on the beach. Every day I’d lounge in a chair and write while ocean waves rolled in and out to sea.  The only guest I’d bring is my dog.  The reason I would take the dog over anyone else is because other than a bowl of food, fresh water and a bag of cookies, she requires little care.  Unlike the men in my household, she enjoys walks on the beach.

Thank you for spending this time with us. Make sure to pick up your copy o f Katie McKnight’s

Secrets Revealed

at

http://www.amazon.com/Secrets-Revealed-ebook/dp/B00EE0I874/ref=sr_1_1?ie=UTF8&qid=1382840605&sr=8-1&keywords=Secrets+Revealed

secretsrevealed me (3)

Leave a comment

Filed under "AT" Author Tease Readings

Leave a Reply

