Today’s Tease…Sunny Shandilya

Welcome! Pull up a seat and enjoy a chat with Today’s Tease Sunny Shandilya

Your Name or Pen Name you use:  Sunny Shandilya

Title of the book you are promoting:  ‘Nav and the Ninth Universe- The Clock Of Time’

Link to purchase your Book: 

Amazon.com- http://amzn.to/14TL71b (USA)
Amazon.uk – http://amzn.to/167Ju05 (UK)

Flipkart – http://bit.ly/1dpXzNQ (India)

First chapter is available for download at http://www.sunnyshandilya.com/

Genre:  YA Sci-Fi fantasy fiction

Welcome  SS…I, LH have some questions for you 😉

LH: I wanted to be a ballerina, race car driver and a private detective when I was little. What did you want to be when you grew up?

SS: First of all, I cannot thank you enough for giving me this opportunity to share here at your blog https://authorteasereadings.wordpress.com.

As for the answer for your question, I wanted to be a pilot, a genetic engineer, a software engineer in that sequence and later someone who people could recognize.

LH: I didn’t really have a literary influence, I just decided one day to start writing. Who influenced you in your writing career?

SS: Well I all can say is same pinch. 😉 I too do not have a literary influence but it just happened and I am really happy that I could complete it.

Till date, I cannot believe that I have actually managed to complete a novel as I am a very impatient person in real life.

LH: I self published all of my books and was then “discovered” by a publisher. Are you an Indie or published author?

SS: This is my debut novel and I have got it self published.

LH: As an Indie Author, I was hesitant about being with a publishing company. If you are an Indie author, would you like to be published by a traditional publisher and if so, why or why not?

SS: I would love to be published traditionally just because they take off a large chunk of your headache by taking care of the publicity. I do not write full time so it becomes a little difficult at times to promote it all by myself.

LH: This is easy for me…I’d invite Johnny Depp and I would not discuss movies!  Who would you invite to dinner, living or dead, and what one topic would you NOT discuss with them?

SS: That is a really difficult question but I would like to invite all the ‘big’ literary agents and publishing houses and not ask about the reason behind the migration of Siberian cranes, instead I would like to ask them – Why is it that publicity is more important than the actual product? I mean I do understand that people should know about something new but it really hurts when lot of good literature goes unnoticed because of lack of publicity 🙂

LH: I personally think that there is way too much sex and violence everywhere in society these days and it’s everywhere but that Hollywood is one of the biggest contributors.  Do you think that society as a whole is subjected to too much sex and violence and are you concerned about it? Ever feel conflicted and if so, why?

SS: The visual medium has a deeper impact on the society but then it depends and I know this would sound cliché but we as humans are now exposed to much more information both in depth and in variety than we had a decade ago. We therefore should be at a better position to judge and act judiciously.

LH: I’m a huge softy and by no means a beauty queen… lol but, I truly would want world peace in the blink of an eye if I could make it happen…If you could change one thing in the world, in the blink of an eye, what would it be?

SS: I have heard this often that money can buy most of the things if not all. Same goes for the problems. Money is the cause of most of the problems if not all. If there was a system in which people were to do work as their hobbies and not as a compulsion, the world in my view would be a better place. I feel the inherent desire to amass money leads to corruption, which is the main cause behind any crime.

LH: With the traditional bookstore becoming obsolete and everyone turning to buying books online, I don’t buy the hype that “the cover is everything”. How important do you think book covers are now that almost all shopping is done online?

SS: I believe in the saying – ‘Do not judge the book by its cover.’ Cover does play a big role in the initial attraction for the consumer but in the long run, it is the content which is the real hero.

LH: I can remember wanting to write as a kid. I got a really late start! Have you always wanted to write and when did you start?

SS: I never believed that I had it in me to scribble even 10 pages but as days passed, I kept cementing the bricks and finally have managed to create a building.

I started in March 2011.

LH: I love to see if I can see myself in a character. What interests you most about a story?

SS: A good story always engulfs you and you start living with it. If a story does that, it is a winner for me

LH: For me, I just get hit with this whole movie in my head and start writing. How do you come up with your stories?

SS: In my part of the world, people are still obsessed with love story but I feel, as is mentioned in my acknowledgement – “Writing is a creative art and according to me, creation is when you write about the unknown or the unseen.”

In yoga classes, they ask you to think about a dot of light to improve your concentration but seldom people are able to do so. For everyone, the light is perceived differently. Same is the case with me. So it was a conscious effort to write a story which was woven through reality.

LH: I can’t tell you or I’d have to…lol Are you working on anything now?

SS: The problem is that I am moody and I have a few plots in my mind. If you read the last line of the book, you would surely come to know what to expect soon J

LH: I’m working on #6…5 are published and last on is due out this year… How many books have you written? How many have been published?

SS: This is my debut work and even this would not have seen the light of the day had I not had the courage to get it self published in India.

LH: I write for fun I don’t even dream of riches…Do you write for fun or money?

SS: This was a piece of advice given to me by one of my friend Saiba – “Always right for yourself so that if you read it even after years, you would have the same excitement to read it.”

I just felt that I have something which needs to be told and once you are totally immersed in the story, you would have that ‘exciting’ feeling that yes, this could be possible. That feeling that I hear from my readers is my reward.

I lost my father at an early age. So for me, my mother has been my superhero. The day, God willing, I get any kind of recognition my mother and sister receives it , would be the only meaningful day of my life.

LH: Some of my family members had a bit of a problem with me writing my first book “A Beautiful Liar” because the character Maggie West is basically me…to a point 😉 They had a problem with the genre and me “putting it all out there” so to speak so I took a pen name. They eventually came around as I have never cared who knows who I am what I’ve done or what they think of me. I’ve never wanted to be famous, just infamous! What has been your biggest problem when it comes to family or friends when writing?

SS: I was not sure how would people take it so even my close friends and family came to know about it only weeks before the book’s release.

In India, the safest profession yet is either engineering or being a doctor. So I had to gather a lot of courage when deciding to go ahead with the book but my family and friends have really supported me.

LH: I have never experienced writers block…I have experienced writers “don’t want to”… Have you ever experienced writers block and if so, how did you overcome it?

SS: One of the primary reasons that I did not inform anyone was because I was not sure if this would turn out to be a complete story. I have faced it many times. In fact, my system crashed a couple of times and I lost the initial files too.

LH: I get asked all the time “Do you have any advice for new writers?”… Do you?

SS: I am yet to experience both success and failure to be able to advice others but I believe writing a book is like opening a restaurant – you will always find takers no matter how bad it is and you would always have people to criticize no matter how good it is. So stop worrying and start expressing.

LH: I would not change one thing in my life as I would not be me if I did… If you could go back in time and change one thing in your life, what would it be?

SS: Well, I do miss my dad. In fact, my mother and my sister miss them more. I would really want to go back and bring him back coz I really feel that life would have been very smooth for my family and I think I can afford to lose anything for them.

LH: I would freak out if someone contacted me and said they wanted to make one of my books or my series of book into a movie as I am really very shy in person and I’d probably go into hiding. I don’t think I could handle it. How would you handle it? Who would be the first person you told?

SS: First of all, I would nag the person because I know many of my friends would love to play this prank and when he truly convinces me that the call is genuine, well, I would just love it if someone would think if this was good enough for the sliver screen. In fact, may have already mentioned that they felt like watching a 3D movie.

I would definitely call my family and inform them first.

Thank you for that fun and informative interview SS…Now… for the fun stuff!

Favorite Beverage?

Exercise or Bubble Bath? Bubble bath after a great workout session.

Favorite Color? Black and white both 🙂

Take out or Dine in? Take out

Camping or Hotel? Camping is more fun.

Sports or Chocolate? Playing to win a chocolate .. hehehe

Dogs or Cats? Sorry but I don’t like both 🙂

Favorite Food? Anything mom cooks.

Favorite Song? Many in both English and Hindi

Favorite Movie? Many in both English and Hindi

Favorite Car? Lamborghini any day

Sex or Chocolate? Chocolate while having sex 😉

And now for the essay part of the interview 😉

LH: If you could go anywhere for a week, with anyone you wanted and no one would ever find out about it…where would you go, what would you do and who would you take?

SS: This is a really difficult one and I have so many crushes to choose from but I would love to spend alone time with the Bollywood actress ‘Ayesha Takia’ in the world’s most romantic city – Paris.

I have such a big crush on her and I really adore her chubby cheeks.

Thank you for spending this time with us. Make sure to get your copy of Sunny Shandilya ‘s

‘Nav and the Ninth Universe- The Clock Of Time’

at

http://amzn.to/14TL71b

Nav and the Ninth Universe_eBook cover Author_pic

2 Comments

Filed under "AT" Author Tease Readings

2 responses to “Today’s Tease…Sunny Shandilya

  1. Kev

    Good interview!

Leave a Reply

