Today’s Tease…Y. Pushkin

Welcome! Pull up a seat and enjoy a chat with Today’s Tease Y. Pushkin 

Your Name or Pen Name you use: Y. Pushkin 

Title of the book you are promoting: Sig Woods and The Book of Elements 

 Link to purchase your Book:  TBA

 Genre: Teen/Fantasy 

Welcome  YP…I, LH have some questions for you 😉

LH: I wanted to be a ballerina, race car driver and a private detective when I was little. What did you want to be when you grew up?

YP: I always wanted to be a cop when I was a kid.  I found it so fascinating.

LH: I didn’t really have a literary influence, I just decided one day to start writing. Who influenced you in your writing career?

YP: Well, I am a bit like you.  I didn’t really have any influence per say.  However, my inspiration came from J.K. Rowling and the Harry Potter series.

LH: I self published all of my books and was then “discovered” by a publisher. Are you an Indie or published author?

YP: I will be an indie author.

LH: As an Indie Author, I was hesitant about being with a publishing company. If you are an Indie author, would you like to be published by a traditional publisher and if so, why or why not?

YP: Being published by a traditional publisher would be awesome, but it seems now a days authors receive more exposure through self publishing.  Either way whether it is self-publish or traditional I would be honored.

LH: This is easy for me…I’d invite Johnny Depp and I would not discuss movies! Who would you invite to dinner, living or dead, and what one topic would you NOT discuss with them?

I would invite Albert Einstein and I would NOT discuss physics.

LH: I personally think that there is way too much sex and violence everywhere in society these days and it’s everywhere but that Hollywood is one of the biggest contributors.  Do you think that society as a whole is subjected to too much sex and violence and are you concerned about it? Ever feel conflicted and if so, why?

YP: I feel that TV now a days has a big influence on the teenage generation.  It is okay for society to become aware of these situations, but we shouldn’t be bombarded by them every show we watch.

LH: I’m a huge softy and by no means a beauty queen… lol but, I truly would want world peace in the blink of an eye if I could make it happen…If you could change one thing in the world, in the blink of an eye, what would it be?

I would give everyone the power of common sense.

LH: With the traditional bookstore becoming obsolete and everyone turning to buying books online, I don’t buy the hype that “the cover is everything”. How important do you think book covers are now that almost all shopping is done online?

YP: Personally, I still believe that a cover to a book is important regardless if it is bought online or in a bookstore. For instance, if an individual wants to buy the book online forst and then realize they love the book, they will be inclined to by a physical copy of the book.

LH: I can remember wanting to write as a kid. I got a really late start! Have you always wanted to write and when did you start?

YP: I have ALWAYS wanted to write.  I remember in 2nd grade whenever my teacher gave me a 1 page assignment I would go off and write 3 pages.

LH: I love to see if I can see myself in a character. What interests you most about a story?

YP: The most that interests me about a story is if the reader can relate to not only the character but almost feel like they can close their eyes and be “sucked into” the world.

LH: For me, I just get hit with this whole movie in my head and start writing. How do you come up with your stories?

YP: Well, Sig Woods was created by just a vision I had of a boy and a girl who became great friends.  Then, the story just unfolded chapter by chapter.  The more I wrote, the more interesting the writing became.

LH: I can’t tell you or I’d have to…lol Are you working on anything now?

YP: Yes.

LH: I’m working on #6…5 are published and the other is due out this year… How many books have you written? How many have been published?

YP: Sig Woods will be my first book.  I plan to write 5 books in the Sig Woods series.

LH: I write for fun I don’t even dream of riches…Do you write for fun or money?

YP: I write for the enjoyment of writing.  Money is secondary.  If riches were a reality due to my book series, I welcome it.  But, I don’t expect that to happen.  I expect my readers to immerse themselves and enjoy the books for their adventure.

LH: Some of my family members had a bit of a problem with me writing my first book “A Beautiful Liar” because the character Maggie West is basically me…to a point 😉 They had a problem with the genre and me “putting it all out there” so to speak so I took a pen name. They eventually came around as I have never cared who knows who I am what I’ve done or what they think of me. I’ve never wanted to be famous, just infamous! What has been your biggest problem when it comes to family or friends when writing?

YP: Sometimes, my family members don’t think I’m all there.  But as a writer, you kinda have to be “out there.”

LH: I have never experienced writers block…I have experienced writers “don’t want to”… Have you ever experienced writers block and if so, how did you overcome it?

YP: I have experience writers block halfway through Sig Woods and the Book of Elements.  I had to completely revamp the chapter structure.  It was a nightmare at first, but Im glad I did it.

LH: I get asked all the time “Do you have any advice for new writers?”… Do you?

YP: Write with your heart.  Let the words just flow.  Its pretty enjoyable!

LH: I would not change one thing in my life as I would not be me if I did… If you could go back in time and change one thing in your life, what would it be?

YP: Nothing.  I have no regrets because the choices and mistakes we make is what shapes our future.

LH: If I could go back in time and tell someone something, I’d go back and tell the founding fathers they were doing a few things wrong…If you could go back in time and tell someone something, who would you tell and what would you tell them?

YP: I would tell a certain someone that I love them very much.

LH: I would freak out if someone contacted me and said they wanted to make one of my books or my series of book into a movie as I am really very shy in person and I’d probably go into hiding. I don’t think I could handle it. How would you handle it? Who would be the first person you told?

YP: I would be completely beside myself.  And Nervous.  For starters.

Thanks for that fun and fact filled interview YP…Now… for the fun stuff!

Favorite Beverage? Ovaltine, yes I said it.

Exercise or Bubble Bath?   Exercise

Favorite Color? Blue

Take out or Dine in? Dine in.

Camping or Hotel? Hotel

Sports or Chocolate? Chocolate

Dogs or Cats? Cats

Favorite Food? Ice-cream

Favorite Song? Too many, I can’t even begin to sift through.

Favorite Movie? Saving Private Ryan

Favorite Car? Aston Martin

Sex or Chocolate? (The answer “Both” is totally acceptable 😉 Both 🙂

And now for the essay part of the interview 😉

LH: If you could go anywhere for a week, with anyone you wanted and no one would ever find out about it…where would you go, what would you do and who would you take?

YP: I would take a very special friend of mine, you know who you are.  Ive known her for 7 years met her in NYC, and I would take her anywhere she wanted.  We would enjoy life wherever it took us.

Sig Woods Book Cover

Thank you for spending this time with us. Make sure to pick up your copy of Y. Pushkin’s

Sig Woods and The Book of Elements

On Amazon right around Black Friday!

Leave a comment

Filed under "AT" Author Tease Readings

Leave a Reply

