Today’s Tease…Shannon Schoolcraft

Welcome! Pull up a seat and enjoy a chat with Today’s Tease Shannon Schoolcraft
Your Name or Pen Name you use: Shannon Schoolcraft
Title of the book you are promoting: Carmen Stone My Life In Darkness
Link to purchase your Book: http://www.amazon.com, http://www.xlibris.com, http://www.barns&noble.com
Genre: Fiction

Welcome SS…I, LH have some questions for you 😉

LH: I wanted to be a ballerina, race car driver and a private detective when I was little. What did you want to be when you grew up?
SS: Thank you for having me Leanna. When I was younger I wanted to be a singer/song writer and an author.
LH: I didn’t really have a literary influence, I just decided one day to start writing. Who influenced you in your writing career?
SS: I really like books. R.L Stine was my influence.
LH: I self published all of my books and was then “discovered” by a publisher. Are you an Indie or published author?
SS: I self published my first book.
LH: As an Indie Author, I was hesitant about being with a publishing company. If you are an Indie author, would you like to be published by a traditional publisher and if so, why or why not?
SS: I wouldn’t mind being published by a traditional publisher because I think it a way it would be easier.
LH: This is easy for me…I’d invite Johnny Depp and I would not discuss movies! Who would you invite to dinner, living or dead, and what one topic would you NOT discuss with them?
SS: I would invite Ian Somerholder and I would not discuss movies.
LH: I personally think that there is way too much sex and violence everywhere in society these days and it’s everywhere but that Hollywood is one of the biggest contributors. Do you think that society as a whole is subjected to too much sex and violence and are you concerned about it? Ever feel conflicted and if so, why?
SS: Yes there is to much sex and violence in the world, I’m nor concerned, concerned, but if it gets worse I will be concerned.
LH: I’m a huge softy and by no means a beauty queen… lol but, I truly would want world peace in the blink of an eye if I could make it happen…If you could change one thing in the world, in the blink of an eye, what would it be?
SS: If I could change one thing in the world, I would make sure nobody goes hungry.
LH: With the traditional bookstore becoming obsolete and everyone turning to buying books online, I don’t buy the hype that “the cover is everything”. How important do you think book covers are now that almost all shopping is done online?
SS: Well to be honest, when I look at a book I look at the cover first and if I like the cover I will read the back. If the back is good I would buy it. But well written books are the best no matter if you but them on line or a book store.
LH: I can remember wanting to write as a kid. I got a really late start! Have you always wanted to write and when did you start?
SS: When I was a kid I always liked to write, it was my favorite and it still is. I started writing when I was 12.
LH: I love to see if I can see myself in a character. What interests you most about a story? SS: I picture myself as the characters and get a sense of how the feel and what they are going through.
LH: For me, I just get hit with this whole movie in my head and start writing. How do you come up with your stories?
SS: For me, I’ll just be sitting there and a bunch of ideas will hit me out of the blue and then I start writing.
LH: I can’t tell you or I’d have to…lol Are you working on anything now?
SS: I’m currently working on a book, it’s a lot different then what I normally write.
LH: I’m working on #6…5 are published and the other is due out this year… How many books have you written? How many have been published?
SS: I’ve written 13 books and only have 1 published so far.
LH: I write for fun I don’t even dream of riches…Do you write for fun or money?
SS: I write for fun because it’s something I enjoy doing.
LH: Some of my family members had a bit of a problem with me writing my first book “A Beautiful Liar” because the character Maggie West is basically me…to a point 😉 They had a problem with the genre and me “putting it all out there” so to speak so I took a pen name. They eventually came around as I have never cared who knows who I am what I’ve done or what they think of me. I’ve never wanted to be famous, just infamous! What has been your biggest problem when it comes to family or friends when writing?
SS: The only problem I’ve had is most of my family didn’t see the point of me writing. They didn’t think I would get any ware. But now that I have my first book published they are still a little indifferent. My mom and dad always supported me, well mostly my dad.
LH: I have never experienced writers block…I have experienced writers “don’t want to”… Have you ever experienced writers block and if so, how did you overcome it?
SS: I just keep writing.
LH: I get asked all the time “Do you have any advice for new writers?”… Do you?
SS: My advice for new writers would be, if this is something you love to do, keep doing it, you will get somewhere.
bI would not change one thing in my life as I would not be me if I did… If you could go back in time and change one thing in your life, what would it be?
SS: I wouldn’t change any thing.
LH: I would freak out if someone contacted me and said they wanted to make one of my books or my series of book into a movie as I am really very shy in person and I’d probably go into hiding. I don’t think I could handle it. How would you handle it? Who would be the first person you told?
SS: I would probably faint or something like that, I’m a shy person and would probably fumble over my words, I’m not good with talking. The first person I would tell would most likely be my twin brother.

Thanks for that fun and frank interview SS…Now… for the fun stuff!

Favorite Beverage? water
Exercise or Bubble Bath? Exercise then bubble bath.
Favorite Color? Black
Take out or Dine in? Dine in
Camping or Hotel? Hotel, I’m not much of a camper.
Sports or Chocolate? Chocolate
Dogs or Cats? I like both
Favorite Food? Spaghetti
Favorite Song? Breath by Braking Benjamin
Favorite Movie? Too many to choose from
Favorite Car? Dodges
Sex or Chocolate? (The answer “Both” is totally acceptable 😉 Chocolate mostly

And now for the essay part of the interview 😉

LH: If you could go anywhere for a week, with anyone you wanted and no one would ever find out about it…where would you go, what would you do and who would you take?
SS: I would go to Hawaii, with again Ian Somerholder and would check out the store or practice surfing.

030 030 (2)

Leave a comment

Filed under "AT" Author Tease Readings

Leave a Reply

