To All Who Served…

Dear men and women of the US Armed Forces past, present and future,

I am the daughter of a Korean War POW and mother of a United States Marine. I personally understand that when you sign your name and enlist, you are not only swearing to serve our country and protect it’s citizens from enemies both foreign and domestic, you are giving up your life as you know it and I want each and every one of you to know that I, truly respect and appreciate you for that.

To know that you agree to go into uncertain situations with no questions asked and lay your lives on the line, my heart swells with pride. It takes a special person to selflessly give up the comforts they have grown accustomed to and doing with little to nothing at times. You leave your families for long periods of time, deal with eminence stress and live in places that are deplorable and hostile. You are, in essence, giving up your freedom, to ensure ours.

You have to witness things that the rest of us could never understand. You have to deal with traumas that the rest of us would never be able to comprehend. Some of you will not have the luxury of coming home again. Some of you will come home mangled, disfigured and/or traumatized to the point you feel the life you once knew, is over.

Know this, I for one am grateful. I am grateful for your selflessness. I am grateful for your courage. I am grateful for your sacrifice.  I am grateful for all you have given up so that I and my family may remain safe, proud and free. 

If it were not for you and your brothers and sisters in arms, this would not be the land of the free and the home of the brave.

Happy Veteran’s Day and thank you for your service.

Sincerely,

Leah M. Tate

Grateful US Citizen

Veterans Day

2 Comments

Filed under "AT" Author Tease Readings

2 responses to “To All Who Served…

  1. Pingback: To All Who Served… | Barbara C Rowe Author

Leave a Reply

