Today’s Tease…Becky Flade

Welcome! Pull up a seat and enjoy a chat with Today’s Tease Becky Flade

Your Name or Pen Name you use:   Becky Flade

Title of the book you are promoting:   Fated Souls

 Link to purchase your Book:   http://amzn.com/B00C9KNYWK

Genre:  Paranormal Romance

Welcome  BF..I, LH have some questions for you 😉

LH: I wanted to be a ballerina, race car driver and a private detective when I was little. What did you want to be when you grew up?

BF: I remember wanting to be a nurse for like one day. After that I wanted to be a newspaper journalist; the youngest author to ever hit the New York Times Bestseller’s List; then I settled on an attorney and fiction novelist.

LH: I didn’t really have a literary influence, I just decided one day to start writing. Who influenced you in your writing career?     

BF: I’m a compulsive reader and I enjoy a wide variety of authors like Agatha Christie, David Gemmel, Nora Roberts, Stephen King, Anne Rice, John Grisham, Jeffrey Archer, Jude Deveraux, John Jakes, we’ll be here all day if I keep going. I hope no one influenced me; I’d prefer to have my own distinct style.

LH: I self published all of my books and was then “discovered” by a publisher. Are you an Indie or published author?

BF: I’m not self-published and I’ve got contracts with three publishers, so I guess I was discovered, ha! I hadn’t realized I’d been discovered – how about that?! =D

LH: This is easy for me…I’d invite Johnny Depp and I would not discuss movies! Who would you invite to dinner, living or dead, and what one topic would you NOT discuss with them?

BF: I’d like to say Nathan Fillion and Firefly/Serenity but that would require sawing off my own tongue (I’m a Browncoat!) and as my fiancé believes he has a say in what body parts I get to saw off – I’ll have to go with John Lennon. And not discuss politics.

LH: I personally think that there is way too much sex and violence everywhere in society these days and it’s everywhere but that Hollywood is one of the biggest contributors.  Do you think that society as a whole is subjected to too much sex and violence and are you concerned about it? Ever feel conflicted and if so, why?

BF: Our society is inundated with sex and violence, especially in entertainment and media, television, movies, books, music, even video games, it’s everywhere. And as a mother I’m extraordinarily concerned about it. However, in addition to paranormal romance and contemporary romance, I also write erotica and it sounds hypocritical as hell for me to make that statement. But, and here’s where I could lose friends, as a parent it is my job to monitor and limit to what my children are exposed. These images are intended for the entertainment of adults. But kids are the ones accessing them and so many of these kids have no sense of the consequences of their actions. I think the bigger problem faced by our society is the combination of lackadaisical parenting paired with an appalling lack of accountability.

LH: I’m a huge softy and by no means a beauty queen… lol but, I truly would want world peace in the blink of an eye if I could make it happen…If you could change one thing in the world, in the blink of an eye, what would it be?

BF: Poverty. I don’t mean everybody’s rich. But no one on the Third Rock would ever have to choose between eating and heat; food or medicine, ever again.

LH: With the traditional bookstore becoming obsolete and everyone turning to buying books online, I don’t buy the hype that “the cover is everything”. How important do you think book covers are now that almost all shopping is done online?

BF: Well, you’ve got a point. The fantastic cover that really jumps up off the shelf and says, “Becky buy me; you know you must have me, dahling!” really isn’t necessary in this digital day and age. But a bad cover can still hurt. I’ve seen some really messed up digital covers that have kept me from even looking at a book’s description and The Book Binge blog posts a weekly “WTF Cover” update every Saturday. I wouldn’t want to be on that list.

LH: I can remember wanting to write as a kid. I got a really late start! Have you always wanted to write and when did you start?

BF: I have had stories, characters, little dramas, playing out in my head for as long as I can remember. It was either be a writer or be treated for schizophrenia. 😉  I wrote my first book in kindergarten. I still have it.

LH: I love to see if I can see myself in a character. What interests you most about a story?

BF: I live so much with the hero and the heroine that by the time I finish with them, they are driving me nuts. They’re like house guests that just won’t go away. And without fail, I am completely enthralled with the supporting cast.

LH: For me, I just get hit with this whole movie in my head and start writing. How do you come up with your stories?

BF: It’s different every time. Sometimes I see the beginning, other times the middle; could be the end or the whole she-bang. Could be one scene, one conversation; sometimes it’s just an idea that grows into something bigger. That is so disgustingly vague, I’m sorry, but it’s honest.

LH: I can’t tell you or I’d have to…lol Are you working on anything now?                                                                            

BF: I have an awful habit of bouncing. I’ve been working on the same book for 2 years and while working on that I edited, contracted, revised per an editorial team and published my full length romance Fated Souls. I wrote and edited two novellas, one that I recently contracted, it’ll be out in 2014, and another that is out on submission. I started another novella and wrote the framework for a series. I bounce. But I’m really going to finish the Monster WIP.

LH: I have written and published 6… How many books have you written? How many have been published?

BF: Shit, can you combine this question with the last one? LOL

LH: I write for fun I don’t even dream of riches…Do you write for fun or money?

BF: I’m so glad I don’t write to eat. My poor babies would starve.

LH: Some of my family members had a bit of a problem with me writing my first book “A Beautiful Liar” because the character Maggie West is basically me…to a point 😉 They had a problem with the genre and me “putting it all out there” so to speak so I took a pen name. They eventually came around as I have never cared who knows who I am what I’ve done or what they think of me. I’ve never wanted to be famous, just infamous! What has been your biggest problem when it comes to family or friends when writing?

BF: My mother hates the “filth” as she calls the erotica but is very supportive, nonetheless. It helps that also write sweet romance in addition to steamy. The only other hurdle is finding time amongst the responsibilities of having a full time family and job without my people feeling neglected.

LH: I would not change one thing in my life as I would not be me if I did… If you could go back in time and change one thing in your life, what would it be?

BF: That’s exactly how I feel! I’m terrified that the one thing I changed would alter something I love about my now and I’d be SCREWED. Mistakes teach us, they form us, even more so than the successes. Nah, I wouldn’t change a thing. Except maybe wearing shoes to my senior prom that were a size and half too small just because they were pretty and not available in my size. Nope, who knows what catastrophic ripple that could cause….and my date had to carry me around like I was princess, it wasn’t all bad.

LH: If I could go back in time and tell someone something, I’d go back and tell the founding fathers they were doing a few things wrong…If you could go back in time and tell someone something, who would you tell and what would you tell them.

BF: I’d go back and tell Marilyn Monroe that she was sexy and smart, so stop acting like you aren’t, because any man that likes a dumb ass broad isn’t worth the dick is in drawers and that she didn’t need a man to make her worthwhile anyway; and to get healthy before she killed herself.

LH: I would freak out if someone contacted me and said they wanted to make one of my books or my series of book into a movie as I am really very shy in person and I’d probably go into hiding. I don’t think I could handle it. How would you handle it? Who would be the first person you told?

BF: I’d freaking love it! Oh I’d lose my mind kind of love it. I’d be embarrassed sure, but that would not stop me from screaming and dancing like a fool wherever I was when I found out. There would be fist pumping too, yeah lots of fist pumping in the air. And hiney shaking. I’d tell me fiancé first; my daughters second and my mom third. If I don’t do it in that order, I get in trouble.

Thanks for that fun and frank interview BF…Now… for the fun stuff!

Favorite Beverage?   Captain and Coke

Exercise or Bubble Bath?  BATH

Favorite Color?         Green

Take out or Dine in? Take out 

Camping or Hotel?    Hotel

Sports or Chocolate?  Sports

Dogs or Cats?   Dogs

Favorite Food?     Pizza

Favorite Song?  Crazy Bitch by Buckcherry

Favorite Movie?  Armageddon 

Favorite Car?   1967 Chevy Impala

Sex or Chocolate? (The answer “Both” is totally acceptable 😉  SEX

And now for the essay part of the interview 😉 

LH: If you could go anywhere for a week, with anyone you wanted and no one would ever find out about it…where would you go, what would you do and who would you take?

BF: I’d like to go to Ireland with my beloved and explore old castles. I know it probably sounds boring but to me that sounds like the most romantic trip ever. No, we are not doing that for our honeymoon because honeymoons are supposed to be nekkid and it’s chilly and rainy in Ireland which does not encourage nudity IMO.

Thanks so much for having me! 

Thank you for spending this time with us. Make sure to pick up your copy of Becky Flade’s

Fated Souls

at

http://amzn.com/B00C9KNYWK

Fated Souls_cvr Me (5)

3 Comments

Filed under "AT" Author Tease Readings

3 responses to “Today’s Tease…Becky Flade

  1. Brenna Chase

    I do the same thing, bounce around all over the place when I’m writing. Great interview!

  2. Pingback: I’m such a … Tease??? | Becky Flade Author

Leave a Reply

