Today’s Tease…Bethany K Lovell

Welcome! Pull up a seat and enjoy a chat with Today’s Tease Bethany K Lovell

Your Name or Pen Name you use:  Bethany K Lovell

Title of the book you are promoting:  Faetal Distraction

 Link to purchase your Book:  (amazon) http://www.amazon.com/dp/B00COQG7J6

(b&n) http://www.barnesandnoble.com/s/2940016466880

Genre:  paranormal romance

Welcome  BKL…I, LH have some questions for you 😉

LH: I wanted to be a ballerina, race car driver and a private detective when I was little. What did you want to be when you grew up?

BKL: Always a writer, though that didn’t happen until much later in life. Also, a famous singer (which I was really good at… just ask the stuffed animals who attended my concerts) and a fashion designer and a “professional lady of wrestling” and a surfer and a florist and… I was a bit undecided as a kid.

LH: I didn’t really have a literary influence, I just decided one day to start writing. Who influenced you in your writing career?

BKL: My mother encouraged me to write poetry when I was very young, so she got the ball rolling, but an amazing, older friend of mine took me under his wing and helped me to find myself. We would spend entire nights locked in his tiny apartment, where he’d read to me from books that were WAY over my head, then explain the important parts. He read poetry and we dissected it, I read my stuff to him and he critiqued it… sometimes we just drank and played Rummy all night, arguing whether or not God existed and why writing was so fascinating in the first place. But yeah, he was a huge influence on my obsession with words.

LH: I self published all of my books and was then “discovered” by a publisher. Are you an Indie or published author?

BKL: Indie.

LH: As an Indie Author, I was hesitant about being with a publishing company. If you are an Indie author, would you like to be published by a traditional publisher and if so, why or why not?

BKL: I love that I can control what I write, where and when I publish, but… I don’t know. Traditional publishing gets your work into places you can’t on your own, and the idea of not having to edit my work over and over until I never want to look at it again is very appealing. I worry about giving up control, having to change things to suit another’s vision of my story. Two sides of the coin, and I can’t decide which side is better. I’m just thrilled to have my work out there at all!

LH: This is easy for me…I’d invite Johnny Depp and I would not discuss movies!  Who would you invite to dinner, living or dead, and what one topic would you NOT discuss with them?

BKL: Neil Gaiman, and I would not discuss words or books or libraries. We’d talk about his bees, his kids, his wife… That man is fascinating.

LH: I personally think that there is way too much sex and violence everywhere in society these days and it’s everywhere but that Hollywood is one of the biggest contributors.  Do you think that society as a whole is subjected to too much sex and violence and are you concerned about it? Ever feel conflicted and if so, why?

BKL: This is so hard to answer, and is going to make me sound like a hypocrite! I’m not a huge fan of violence on the screen (I am a big baby), but it doesn’t really bother me in books. I write sex and violence, but I think there needs to be a reason for either one. A graphic scene used as filler or shock value just doesn’t work for me. It does seem that we’re permeated with it now, especially on television. I’m not a fan of censorship, though, so my motto is ‘turn the channel, change the station, don’t buy the book, and don’t watch the movie’ but don’t tell someone else they ‘can’t’ (unless it’s your kid, then by all means…).

LH: I’m a huge softy and by no means a beauty queen… lol but, I truly would want world peace in the blink of an eye if I could make it happen…If you could change one thing in the world, in the blink of an eye, what would it be?

BKL: I’d like to get rid of this invisible barrier we all seem to think exists between us. Races, nations, religions, sexuality… these things that say nothing about who we really are just keep on falsely defining us and partitioning us off from the rest of the world. We spend more time categorizing, labeling, defining and judging than anything else we do in a lifetime! And it’s all crap- there are no walls between us, as we’re all just human beings. I’ve never understood why the color of skin, a religious belief, a dress size, a musical preference, or even a hair color could make two people enemies. It’s madness!

LH: With the traditional bookstore becoming obsolete and everyone turning to buying books online, I don’t buy the hype that “the cover is everything”. How important do you think book covers are now that almost all shopping is done online?

BKL: Ugh! The cover!! To me, it’s not a big issue. However, I admit to being a bit of a ‘cover whore’ and buying books just because I like the front, but I can’t tell you how many times I’ve been burned for that. It’s like dressing up an evil mastermind in a fairy princess costume- they look harmless, but we’re all still going to die. The story is what matters. I lost a whole star on a review because I didn’t have a great cover, but I can show you seven different books that are using the same basic cover, and their fans eat it up. I’d rather have a simple cover that’s unique than just recycle something already going around. The digital age may change all that, but I think there are just too many readers out there who are stuck on the pretty packaging.

LH: I can remember wanting to write as a kid. I got a really late start! Have you always wanted to write and when did you start?

BKL: I was writing poetry and silly short stories since fifth grade or so, but didn’t really get serious about writing until I was a teenager.

LH: I love to see if I can see myself in a character. What interests you most about a story?

BKL: The relationships between characters fascinates me. I love to put characters in bizarre situations to see how they will handle themselves and those around them. So much fun to mess with the fictional people!

LH: For me, I just get hit with this whole movie in my head and start writing. How do you come up with your stories?

BKL: That is pretty much how it works for me. I get an idea for a scene, or even just a vague idea of an idea, and I let it sit and stew in my head. Then, usually when I’m in the middle of doing something else, the story just starts going and I have to get it on paper. Once I start developing characters, they just rattle around in my head all the time, having conversations with each other or even me. The sisters I’m writing now never shut up!

LH: I can’t tell you or I’d have to…lol Are you working on anything now?

BKL: Book 3 in my series is currently in my head, but I’ve got nothing but notes on the page yet. I promised my family that I’d “take off” for the holidays, but I honestly don’t think I’m going to make it until January without writing. I just can’t shut it off that easily.

LH: I have written and published 6 books… How many books have you written? How many have been published?

BKL: I’ve only written the 2 so far, and both have been published. I have a ton of stories in my head, but I want to finish the series first.

LH: I write for fun I don’t even dream of riches…Do you write for fun or money?

BKL: Writing for a living is the ultimate goal, but not why I write. I have to… and if the only ones who ever read it were my friends and family, I’d still press on. I’d love to be able to write all day instead of work, but for now, I’m not worried about sales. Right now, it’s all about the stories.

LH: Some of my family members had a bit of a problem with me writing my first book “A Beautiful Liar” because the character Maggie West is basically me…to a point 😉 They had a problem with the genre and me “putting it all out there” so to speak so I took a pen name. They eventually came around as I have never cared who knows who I am what I’ve done or what they think of me. I’ve never wanted to be famous, just infamous! What has been your biggest problem when it comes to family or friends when writing?

BKL: I come from a very conservative family, so I thought long and hard about whether or not to use my real name. In the end, I hoped that they would be proud of me, even if they didn’t approve of the genre I was writing, and used my real name. My mother has a copy of both of my books, but has agreed to never read them!

LH: I have never experienced writers block…I have experienced writers “don’t want to”… Have you ever experienced writers block and if so, how did you overcome it?

BKL: I didn’t write a thing for almost ten years, but I think that was more fear than anything. I was afraid of trying to write a novel, not just because I didn’t want the rejection, but I was worried that if I failed, I’ve have nothing left. Thinking about writing a book is safe- you haven’t done it yet, so no telling if you’ll succeed or not. Once you take the leap and do it, the safety net disappears and you’re on your own. There are days that I sit down to write and don’t think it’s going to happen, but once I put the pen on the paper, something always happens. Sometimes I have to trash it and start again, but I can always write something.

LH: I get asked all the time “Do you have any advice for new writers?”… Do you?

BKL: Just show up and write. Don’t worry if it’s any good or even what might happen later in the story, just stay in the moment and write. Always show up, always try again. And read. Writers who don’t read worry me.

LH: I would not change one thing in my life as I would not be me if I did… If you could go back in time and change one thing in your life, what would it be?

BKL: I’m with you, I wouldn’t change anything. I’m a scifi fan, so I know my entire life could be altered just from wearing a different outfit in the past. 😉

There are things that I regret or wish had happened differently, but I’m good with the present, and would rather not mess with that.

LH: If I could go back in time and tell someone something, I’d go back and tell the founding fathers they were doing a few things wrong…If you could go back in time and tell someone something, who would you tell and what would you tell them?

BKL: I lost some good friends long ago, and I think I’d go back and tell them to pay attention. We were just sailing through life without a care, never knowing that it was all going to crash down around us very soon. I wish we would have been more present with each other, enjoyed it all more.

LH: I would freak out if someone contacted me and said they wanted to make one of my books or my series of book into a movie as I am really very shy in person and I’d probably go into hiding. I don’t think I could handle it. How would you handle it? Who would be the first person you told?

BKL: I would freak! First, I’d tell my husband and kids, then the rest of my family and close friends, and then I’d scream it all over facebook. It would be a challenge for me, because I’m not terribly social and I don’t really like being the focus of a lot of attention. I’d go for it, but would probably have daily anxiety attacks!

Thanks for that fun and informative interview BKL…Now… for the fun stuff!

Favorite Beverage?  Coca-Cola classic or Irish Creme (not at the same time!)

Exercise or Bubble Bath? Bubble bath- every time!

Favorite Color? Dark, grayish blues

Take out or Dine in? Take out

Camping or Hotel? Did enough camping growing up, give me a hotel (with a hot tub)

Sports or Chocolate? Chocolate (unless the Broncos are playing, then both)

Dogs or Cats? I’m a cat person, but I do have one dog that I adore and spoil rotten

Favorite Food? A really good steak, preferably grilled

Favorite Song? Bells For Her by Tori Amos

Favorite Movie? The Princess Bride

Favorite Car? Soft top VW bug- the old kind, not the new ones

Sex or Chocolate? Yes!!

And now for the essay part of the interview 😉

LH: If you could go anywhere for a week, with anyone you wanted and no one would ever find out about it…where would you go, what would you do and who would you take?

BKL: I would run away with the Doctor in his Tardis. (This doesn’t have to be plausible, right?) Since I was fairly young, I’ve watched Doctor Who and dreamed of all the places he would take me, all the strange sights we’d see. I’d let him decide the agenda, since I have no real grasp of the universe and its various tourist attractions.

I would probably let my husband come along, just so he didn’t get his feelings hurt or anything, as well as Mr. Gaiman (because that one dinner just wouldn’t be enough). We’d also need some kind of entertainment, so I’d bring along Etta James. We’d have a time machine, so dropping by to pick her up shouldn’t be a problem. Oh, and maybe an Iron Chef or two, because I imagine that time traveling can make you pretty hungry.

Thank you for spending this time with us. Make sure to pick up your copy of Bethany K Lovell’s

Faetal Distraction

at

http://www.amazon.com/dp/B00COQG7J6

bk1ke beth11

4 Comments

Filed under "AT" Author Tease Readings

4 responses to “Today’s Tease…Bethany K Lovell

  1. So excited for you sis!! Love you Bethany! 🙂

  2. Kathy McGlinchy

    So exciting! So proud of you! Love your brilliance and all of you!

  3. What a great interview! Have both books and will find the time to read them before New Years! Having seen some of the writing as it happened, I have to say that the characters mesh so well and the story is fast and well put together. And also, laughing at your mom owning but promising not to read the books! ❤

Leave a Reply

